University of KentuckyCollege of Agriculture

AEC 320 - Agricultural Product Marketing and Sales

Tentative Schedule Fall 2012

Handout links will be made available at the end of each lecture.


Week Class Date Handouts Topics Readings/Assignments
1

1

 

 

 

August 23, Thursday

 

 

Why Sales?

 

 

Introduction plus Course Coordination and Expectations

First exercise(your information) due next class.

Read Chaper 1 ProSelling.

Pepare to discuss Questions 1 & 2 (the Paul Nobbe Example P.22; animal health company reps P.28; Ag computer solutions sales rep P.29)

 

2 2

 

 

August 28, Tuesday



What is Selling?

First Excercise Due

Chapter 1 ProSelling

Last day to add

 

Read Chapter 2

Answer Questions 1,2,3,4,5 (the home purchase example on P.38 & the Farm Credit Example on P.40)

3

 

August 30, Thursday



Marketing and It's Relationship to Sales


     


Chapter 2 Marketing's Role

Discussion Questions

 

3 4

 

September 4, Tuesday

The Value Chain

The 5 P's Outline

Multiple Choice Questions

The Smoothie Case

 


 

Inventory Management

 



5

 

September 6, Thursday

 

Inventory Control

Rengineering Skipped Slides


Logistics Homework
       

 

 

 

Inventory Management


Read Spaulding & Woods New Product Article

Prepare discussion questions

4 6

 

September 11, Tuesday


New Product Development

New Product Pricing Questions

New Product Development Questions

NPD of Poptarts     

Product and Perceptual Maps

Perceptual Map

Perceptual Map Excercise

 

 

 

 

New Product Marketing


Read Pricing New Products

Prepare discussion questions

7

 

 

 

September 13, Thursday

 

 

 

 

 

New Product Marketing

M&S ASSN #1 due

Read Chapter 4

Answer Questions 2,3,4

(The 3 prosepcting strategies example P.94-95; Trade Show examples P. 100-101; Trageting prospectings Kylene D. of John Deere P. 102-103)

5 8

 

September 18, Tuesday

 

New Product Development Pricing

 

New Product Pricing

 

 

9

 

September 20, Thursday

 

Prospecting

 

Chapter 4 Prospecting

In Class Calloway Case Study

Hand out PPI Case

 

6 10

 

 

 

 

 

September 25, Tuesday

 



     

 

PPI Case

 

Wilhelm Van Eyck Case

 

Chapter 5

 

Prospecting, Preparing and Planning

 

 

 

 

PPI Case Assigned

Read Chapter 5

Answer Questions:

1. Explain Maslow's need heirarchy.

2. What is the 5-step buying process?

3. List and explain the importance of 5 types of adopters.

4. Define and explain the value of an opinion leader.

5. Define and explain DISC communications model.

Answer the handout questions for the end-of-chapter case Wilhem Van Eyck

11

September 27, Thursday

 


 

Chapter 5 Understanding Customers

Wilhelm Van Eyck and PPI Discussion

 

Chapter 5

(Maslow's heirarchy 116-119 and TA 135-144)

7 12

October 2, Tuesday

 

 

 

Communications

 

 

Communication Theory and Application

 

 

M&S ASSN #2 due

Read Chapter 6

Answer Questions 1,2,3

Explain 5 opening techniques

13

October 4, Thursday

 

Chapter 6

The Opening

Midterm Review Sheet

8 14

October 9, Tuesday

 




   

Catch up and Review

 

15

October 11, Thursday

 

Mid-Term EXAM!!

Be in class on-time.

Read Chapter 8

Answer Questions 1, 2, 4, 5

9 16

October 16, Tuesday

 

     

       

Chapter 8 Communicating your Value (The Presentation)

Hot Sauce Role Play

Wayne's Golf World

Read the dairy farmer and retailer purchasing a computer and software examples, (P 227 next to last paragraph) & Kevin the swine genetics rep (pp228-9)

17

October 18, Thursday

 

 

Finish the Presentation

 

10 18

October 23, Tuesday

 


Handling Objections
     

 

 

Role Plays

 


Read Chapter 9

Answer Questions 1, 2, 4, 5, 6

Pay special attention to the Tom Giese example on p 265 and the italicized example responses on pp 269 -277.

19

October 25, Thursday

 

 


  Understanding Customer Needs

7 Ways to Make Customers Love You

Fishy Lease Role Play

Fishy Lease Role Play Suggestions

 

 

Chapter 9 Dealing with Resistance (Objections)

 

 

Read Chapter 10

Answer Questions 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6

11 20

October 30, Tuesday

 


    The Close


Chapter 10 Closing the Sale


 

21

November 1, Thursday

 



   



Role Plays

 

Read Chapter 11

Answer Questions 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6

12 22

 

November 6, Tuesday

 





 
 
NO CLASS

Presidential Election Day

 

23

November 8, Thursday

 

Paraphrasing Quiz and Signature

Sell it Role Play

Creating Customer Satisfaction and Professionalism

 


Chapter 11 Satisfaction and Follow Up

 

Chapter 12 Tools and Tips

13 24

November 13, Tuesday

 

 

Chapter 12 Tools and Tips

Shadow Paper Prep

Tools and Tips

 

CAB Case
25

November 15, Thursday

 

 

CAB Role Play

 

 

14 26

November 20, Tuesday

 

NO CLASS for Shadowing Project Time

 

November 22, Thursday

 

NO CLASS for Thanksgiving

 

15 27

November 27, Tuesday

 

Shadowing experience reports

 

M&S ASSN #3 due

M&S ASSN #4 due

Presentations begin

28

November 29, Thursday

 

 

Final Exam Review Sheet

 

Shadowing experience reports

 

Presentations continue

16 29

December 4, Tuesday

 

 

 

Time and Territory Management


30

December 6, Thursday

 

Give Group Prizes

Finish leftovers

Final Exam review

 
17  

December 12, Wednesday

8:00 AM

 

Final Exam

Be in class on-time