Organizational affiliations of non-academic members are listed only for identification purposes.


  • Lois Mateus, chair; partner in redevelopment of East Market Street in Louisville, contributor to The Harrodsburg Herald and former Brown-Forman Corp. executive
  • Al Smith, chair emeritus; former host of "Comment on Kentucky;" former owner and editor of Kentucky and Tennessee newspapers; former Appalachian Regional Commission federal co-chair
  • Noah Adams, national correspondent, National Public Radio
  • Constance Alexander, independent writer, Murray, Ky.
  • Tom Bethell, independent journalist, Editorial Services, Washington, D.C.
  • Dr. Terry Birdwhistell, dean, University of Kentucky Libraries
  • Bill Bishop, former co-publisher, Daily Yonder; former reporter, Austin American-Statesman; former columnist, Lexington (Ky.) Herald-Leader; author, The Big Sort: Why the Clustering of Like-Minded America is Tearing Us Apart
  • James Branscome, retired Standard & Poor's equity research managing director, McGraw-Hill Cos.
  • Dr. Alice Brown, Berea, Ky., president emeritus, Appalachian College Association
  • Marie Cirillo, founder, Clearfork Community Collaborative and What on Earth community newsletter, Eagan, Tenn.
  • Jim Clinton, CEO, Cenla Advantage Partnership, Alexandria, La.; former president, Southern Growth Policies Board
  • Dee Davis, president, Center for Rural Strategies, Whitesburg, Ky.
  • Robert M. 'Mike' Duncan, president, Inez (Ky.) Deposit Bank; president, American Coalition for Clean Coal Electricity; member and former chairman, Republican National Committee; former chairman, Tennessee Valley Authority
  • Dr. Ron Eller, retired University of Kentucky historian and author, Uneven Ground: Appaalchia Since 1945; former director, UK Appalachian Center; co-principal investigator on initiative that led to creation of the Institute for Rural Journalism
  • Kent Flanagan, retired bureau chief, The Associated Press, Nashville
  • Dr. Gil Friedell, director emeritus, Markey Cancer Center, University of Kentucky; founder, Friedell Committee for Health System Transformation
  • Ben Gish, editor, The Mountain Eagle, Whitesburg, Ky.
  • Dr. Nancy L. Green, external relations director, Ivy Tech Community College, Richmond, Ind.
  • William Greider, national affairs correspondent, The Nation; author, Who Will Tell the People? and The Education of David Stockman and other books
  • Dr. Elizabeth Hansen, IRJCI Steering Committee chair and retired Foundation Professor of Journalism, Eastern Kentucky University, Richmond
  • Bob Hendrickson , publisher, The Ledger-Independent, Maysville, Ky.
  • Peter Hille, Mountain Association for Community Economic Development, Berea, Ky.
  • Alex Jones, director, Shorenstein Center on the Press, Politics and Public Policy, John F. Kennedy School of Government, Harvard University
  • Beverly Kirk, CEO, Bevkirk International; former anchor, News Channel 8 (WJLA-TV), Arlington, Va., and Washington, D.C.
  • Hilda Gay Legg, Legg Strategies, Somerset, Ky.; former Rural Utilities Service administrator and Appalachian Regional Commission alternate co-chair
  • William Leonard, founding dean, Wake Forest U. Divinity School, Winston-Salem, N.C.
  • Alan Lowe, director, George W. Bush Presidential Library, Lewisville, Tex.
  • Homer F. Marcum, Kingsport, Tenn., former publisher, The Martin Countian, Inez, Ky.
  • Judy J. Owens, Appalachian director, Steele-Reese Foundation, Lexington, Ky.
  • O. Leonard Press, founding director, Kentucky Educational Television, Lexington
  • Rita Ray, former executive director, West Virginia Public Broadcasting, Charleston
  • John Rosenberg, founder, Appalachian Research and Defense Fund of Kentucky, Prestonsburg, Ky.
  • Jamie Ross, producer and co-writer, James Agee Film Project, Charlottesville, Va.
  • Renee Shaw, producer, Kentucky Educational Television, Lexington
  • Robert Slaton, former Kentucky commissioner of health, Georgetown
  • Virgil Smith, vice president/talent management, Gannett Co. Inc.
  • Howard 'Ed' Staats, former Kentucky bureau chief, The Associated Press
  • Robert Turner , Oak Ridge Institute for Science and Education, Oak Ridge Associated Universities, Oak Ridge, Tenn.
  • Tim Waltner, publisher, Freeman Courier, Freeman, S.D.
  • Paul Wesslund, vice president for communications, Kentucky Association of Electric Cooperatives, Louisville
  • Jesse White, director, Office of Economic and Business Development, U. of North Carolina at Chapel Hill; former federal co-chairman, Appalachian Regional Commission
  • Jill Wilson, president, West Virginia Humanities Council, Cottageville, W. Va.

Institute for Rural Journalism & Community Issues
School of Journalism and Telecommunications, College of Communications & Information Studies
122 Grehan Building, University of Kentucky, Lexington KY 40506-0042
Phone 859-257-3744 - Fax 859-323-3168

Al Cross, director al.cross@uky.edu