Directory of Rural Organizations

This page links to organizations that deal with multiple rural issues, rural issues in general, or issues that do not have a separate page in the Reporting Resources directory.

Please let the Institute know about links that do not work, or about sources we should add. If a resource here helped you in covering a story, please let us know by emailing al.cross@uky.edu.


Aspen Institute, http://www.aspeninstitute.org 202-736-5848 Janet Topolsky jt@aspeninst.org 1 Dupont Circle NW, Suite 700, Washington DC 20036

Brownfield Network, http://www.brownfieldnetwork.com

Brushy Fork Institute, http://www.berea.edu/brushyforkinstitute 859-985-3858 fax 3903 Peter Hille peter_hille@berea.edu CPO2164 Berea KY 40404 Donna Morgan donna_morgan@berea.edu

The Building Community Institute, http://www.cliftontaulbert.com/
918-584-0414 president Clifton Taulbert 4870 S. Lewis Avenue, Suite 203, Tulsa OK 74105

Federal Reserve Bank of Kansas City's Regional, Public and Community Affairs Division, incorporating the former Center for the Study of Rural America; publishes The Main Street Economist http://www.kc.frb.org/ 800-333-1010

Center for Rural Strategies, http://www.ruralstrategies.org/default.html
606-632-3244 Dee Davis, president dee@ruralstrategies.org 46 E. Main,Whitesburg KY 41858

Coalition for Rural America, http://www.8055.org 916-254-7621 Michelle Basso Reynolds
5101 San Francisco Blvd., Sacramento CA 95820 mreyn@surewest.net

The Conservation Fund, http://www.conservationfund.org 304-876-2815 Marten Jenkins m.jenkins@freshwaterinstitute.org 1098 Turner Rd., Shepherdstown WV 25443

League of Rural Voters, http://www.leagueofruralvoters.org 612-879-7578 fax 612-879-7567 Niel Ritchie nritchie@leagueofruralvoters.org Box 80259, Minneapolis MN 55408

Local Initiatives Support Corp., http://www.lisc.org New York 212-455-9800 or Washington 202-739-9275

National Association of Counties, http://www.naco.org

National Rural Electric Cooperative Association, http://www.nreca.org Patrick Lavigne,
media relations 703-907-5732 patrick.lavigne@nreca.coop

National Rural Funders Collaborative, http://www.nrfc.org 214-824-4450 James Richardson jr@nrfc.org 402 N. Good Latimer Expwy, Dallas, TX 75204

Rural Community Assistance Corp., www.rcac.org 916-447-2854 fax 916-447-2878 swills@rcac.org3120 Freeboard Dr. #201, West Sacramento CA 95691

Rural Development Initiatives Inc., www.rdiinc.org Craig Smith, executive director rdi@rdiinc.org 941 Lawrence St., Eugene OR 97401 541-684-9077

Rural Policy Research Institute, http://www.rupri.org 573-882-0316 Chuck Fluharty cfluharty@rupri.org 214 Middlebush, Columbia MO 65211

Rural Sociological Society, http://ruralsociology.org

W. K. Kellogg Foundation, www.wkkf.org 1 Michigan Ave. East, Battle Creek MI 49017 269-968-1611


Appalachian Regional Commission, http://www.arc.gov/index.do
202-884-7660 fax 7693

Appalshop media and arts cooperative, Whitesburg, Ky. http://www.appalshop.org

Campaign to Protect Rural England, http://www.cpre.org.uk

Carsey Institute at the University of New Hampshire http://www.carseyinstitute.unh.edu/ 603-862-2821 Susan Colucci carsey.institute@unh.edu

Central Appalachian Network, www.cannetwork.org/
can@cannetwork.org CAN Coordinator, 775 Haywood Road, Suite K, Asheville, NC28806

Christian Appalachian Project, http://www.chrisapp.org

Federation of Southern Cooperatives, http://www.federationsoutherncoop.com/
404-765-0991 Ralph Paige rpaige@mindspring.com 2769 Church St., East Point GA 30344

Handmade in America, arts and crafts organization http://www.handmadeinamerica.org 828-252-0121 Gwynne Rukenbrod, executive director 111 Central Ave., Asheville NC 28802 grukenbrod@handmadeinamerica.org

Heartland Center for Leadership Development, http://www.heartlandcenter.info/
402-474-7667 Milan Wall mwall@heartlandcenter.info 3110 N. 40th Street, Suite A, Lincoln, Nebraska 68504

Heartland Institute, libertarian think tank based in Chicago http://www.heartland.org

Northern Great Plains Inc. www.ngplains.org

Southern Good Faith Fund, http://www.goodfaithfund.org

Southern Rural Development Initiative, http://www.srdi.org 828-285-9230, Alan McGregor, executive director alanmcg@bellsouth.net SRDI says it “works to build just and sustainable communities in places challenged by poverty and racism.”


Alabama Giving & Joseph S. Bruno Charitable Foundation, 115 Office Park Dr., Bimingham 3522 www.alabamagiving.org 205-879-0799 Jera Stribling jstribling@jsbcf.org

(Arkansas) Winthrop Rockefeller Foundation, http://www.wrockefellerfoundation.org
501-376.6854 Sherece West swest@wrfoundation.org 225 E. Markham St., Suite 200, Little Rock, Arkansas 72201

Foundation for Appalachian Ohio, http://www.appalachianohio.org 740-753-1111 fax 3333 Cara Dingus Brook, president cbrook@ffao.org 36 Public Square, Nelsonville OH 45764

(Maine) Coastal Enterprises, a Community Development Corporation www.ceimaine.org
207-882-7552 Ronald Phillips rlp@ceimaine.org Box 268, Wiscasset ME 04578

(Minnesota) Center for Small Towns, a data and analysis research outfit at the University of Minnesota www.centerforsmalltowns.org (320) 589-6451 murphyrw@morris.umn.edu 600 East 4th Street, Morris, MN 56267

Minnesota Rural Partners Rural Round-Up, http://mnruralpartners.wordpress.com/ 651-303-5263 Jane Leonard minntwin@comcast.net 1533 Grantham St., St. Paul MN 55108

(Ohio) Rural Action, http://www.ruralaction.org 740-767-4938

(Texas) Llano Grande Center, http://www.llanogrande.org Box 340 Edcouch TX 78538 956-262-4474 Francisco Guajardo chairman f_guajardo@yahoo.com

Western (Maine) Mountains Alliance, www.westernmountainsalliance.org 207-778-7274

Wisconsin Rural Partners, http://www.wirural.org 608-967-2322, PO Box 27, Hollandale, WI 53544-0027


Commonwealth Journalists Association, http://www.commonwealthjournalists.com/, for working journalists in the 54 countries of the (British) Commonwealth, with headquarters in Trinidad.

Swaziland Institute of Mass Communications, http://www.icscpd.org/swaziland-institute-for-mass-communication

Pakistan Press Foundation,www.pakistanpressfoundation.org

Rural Media Network of Pakistan: http://online-rmnp.tripod.com

The Institute for Rural Journalism and Community Issues helps non-metropolitan media define the public agenda in their communities, through strong reporting and commentary on local issues and on broader issues that have local impact. Its initial focus area is Central Appalachia, but as an arm of the University of Kentucky it has a statewide mission, and it has national scope. It has academic collaborators at Appalachian State University, East Tennessee State University, Eastern Kentucky University, Georgia College and State University, Indiana University of Pennsylvania, Iowa State University, Marshall University, Middle Tennessee State University, Ohio University, Southeast Missouri State University, the University of Georgia, the University of North Carolina-Chapel Hill, the University of Tennessee-Knoxville, Washington and Lee University, West Virginia University and the Knight Community Journalism Fellows Program at the University of Alabama. It is funded by the John S. and James L. Knight Foundation and the University of Kentucky, with additional financial support from the Ford Foundation. To get notices of Rural Blog postings and other Institute news, click here.


Institute for Rural Journalism & Community Issues
School of Journalism and Telecommunications, College of Communications & Information Studies
122 Grehan Building, University of Kentucky, Lexington KY 40506-0042
Phone 859-257-3744 - Fax 859-323-3168

Al Cross, director al.cross@uky.edu