Energy Geology Division
Energy Geology Division, Geological Society of America

Energy Geology Division logo


The Energy Geology Division

The Energy Geology Division of the Geological Society of America consists of more than 900 members worldwide from all facets of the geological community including state and national geological surveys, academia and industry. Its purpose is to provide a suitable forum for presentation of scientific papers and discussion of problems of mutual interest in the geologic study of energy resources, to stimulate research and interchange of scientific information about energy resources and related issues within the wide range of their geologic significance, and to act as an organized group in promoting these objectives within the framework of the Geological Society of America.

Acitivities are governed by the membership and ratified by the Officers of the Division. Because the division was originally formed and long operated with a focus on coal research, t he Energy Geology Division of GSA sponsors two major awards recognizing outstanding contributions to the field of coal geology, the Gilbert H. Cady Award and the Antoinette Lierman Medlin Scholarship. It is a goal of the division to add new awards in the future that will have a broader energy focus. Additional awards include the Best Paper Award given for presentations at the annual meeting, and distinguished service awards.

Call for Nominations for the Gilbert Cady Award- Energy Geology Division:

The Energy Geology Division of the GSA seeks nominations for its highest honor, the Gilbert H. Cady Award. For more information about the award or how to nominate someone for the award go to the Awards page. Nominations should be sent to the Past Chair of the division, who serves as the chair of the Cady committee, by February 28.

Antoinette Lierman Medlin Scholarship

The Energy Geology Division Antoinette Lierman Medlin Scholarship provides monetary support and recognition to deserving students in coal science. Each year, one award is presented for the completion of laboratory/analytical research ($2000) and a second award is presented for the completion of fieldwork ($1500). To learn more about the award see the Awards page. Applications should be sent to the Medlin Scholarship Chair, which is the First Vice Chair of the division by March 15th.  Awardees are notified in early April.


This website is maintained by Stephen Greb and Rebecca Wang at the Kentucky Geological Survey. If you have any comments or suggestions, please e-mail Steve at, Last updated: January 23, 2018