Energy Geology Division
Energy Geology Division, Geological Society of America

Distinguished Lecturers Program

The Energy Geology Division chooses from it's membership, scientists that are available for presenting papers on various topics of coal geology. Lecturers are chosen on the merits of significant, innovative research on coal and coal-bearing strata, and demonstrated proficiency in the presentation and publication of that research.

The Energy Geology Division has chosen scientists from among it's ranks to serve as Distinguished Lecturers. Several are past winners of the division's best paper award.

They are:

Bob Gastaldo (Auburn University)

Bill DiMichele (Smithsonian Insititute)

Cortland Eble (Kentucky Geological Survey)

Don Triplehorn (University of Alaska-Fairbanks)

John Calder (Nova Scotia Department of Natural Resources)

Stephen Greb (Kentucky Geological Survey, University of Kentucky)

For further information on the Distinguished Lecturers Program, please contact one of the Distinguished Lecturers directly, or contact one of the Energy Geology Division



This website is maintained by Stephen Greb and Rebecca Wang at the Kentucky Geological Survey. If you have any comments or suggestions, please e-mail Steve at, Last updated: November 17, 2015