Energy Geology Division
Energy Geology Division, Geological Society of America


(4 Members; Chair, 1 year; First Vice-Chair, 1 year; Second Vice-Chair, 1 year; Secretary, 3 years)

Management Board             
(6 Members; consists of the Division officers, the Chair of the preceding year, and one Member-at-Large elected to serve a 3-year term)

Fall 2017 to Fall 2018 Energy Division officers and board

Marc Buursink

First Vice-Chair:
Laura Ruhl
University of Arkansas at Little Rock
Department of Earth Sciences

Second Vice-Chair:
Travis McLing
Energy Water Lead
Idaho National Laboratory
Office: 208-526-7269

Ed Heffern
U.S. Bureau of Land Management (retired)

Past Chair:
J. Fred McLaughlin
University of Wyoming-Laramie
Carbon Management Institute
2020 E Grand Ave Ste 500, Laramie WY 82071
Phone: (307) 766-6855

Lois Yoksoulian
Illinois State Geological Survey
615 E. Peabody
Champaign, IL 61820

Student Member
Jingyao (Jenny) Meng,
T. Boone Pickens School of Geology at Oklahoma State University,
105 Noble Research Center, Stillwater, OK  74078-3031

Meetings (The annual business meeting of the Division is held during the annual meeting of the Society.)

JTPC Representative:
J. Fred McLaughlin

(Official permanent repository of Division records)
University of Illinois – Archives
William J. Maher
(217) 333-0798 (voice)
(217) 333-2868 (fax)
19 Main Library, MC 522, 1408 W. Gregory Drive, Urbana, IL  61801

A web-based description of the Division Archives is at:


This website is maintained by Stephen Greb and Rebecca Wang at the Kentucky Geological Survey. If you have any comments or suggestions, please e-mail Steve at, Last updated: November 7, 2017