AGRICULTURE EXPERTS AT UK

Faculty and research experts at the University of Kentucky (UK) are available to speak to the news media about a variety of topics ranging from finance and economics to literature and the arts. Members of the media wishing to interview or consult with these individuals should call (859) 257-1754.


Categories:


Agricultural Economics

Rosalind Harris, Associate Professor, Department of Community and Leadership Development
Contact Phone(s): (859) 257-6891
E-mail: rosalind.harris@uky.edu
Specialization:

  1. Causes and consequences of rural poverty and regional inequality
    Sociology of health
    Poverty
    Sociology of agriculture

Kenny Burdine, Extension specialist
Contact Phone(s): 859-257-7273
Email: kburdine@uky.edu
Specialization:

  1. Livestock marketing and outlook

Greg Halich, Associate extension professor
Contact Phone(s): 859-257-8841
Email: greg.halich@uky.edu
Specialization:

  1. Grain crop profitability
    Economics of grazing systems
    Economics of pasture-based beef finishing
    Biofuel production profitability

Lee Meyer, Extension professor
Contact Phone(s): 859-257-7276
Email: lee.meyer@uky.edu
Specialization:

  1. Sustainable agriculture
    Farm transitions

William Snell, Extension professor
Contact Phone(s): 859-257-7288
Email: wsnell@uky.edu
Specialization:

  1. Tobacco policy and economics

Timothy A. Woods, Extension professor
Contact Phone(s): 859-257-7270
Email: tim.woods@uky.edu
Specialization:

  1. Local foods and food cooperatives
    Food consumer behavior
    MarketReady/MarketMaker

Animal Disease

Michelle Arnold, Ruminant Extension Veterinarian
Contact Phone(s): (859) 257-7190
Email: michelle.arnold@uky.edu
Specialization:

  1. Ruminant animal health

Craig Carter, Director and Veterinarian
Contact Phone(s): (859) 257-7489
Email: craig.carter@uky.edu
Specialization:

  1. Diagnosis of animal diseases
    Performance of tests which safeguard the health of Kentucky animal population

Animal Food Sciences

Roy Burris, Extension Beef Specialist
Contact Phone(s): (270) 365-7541, ext.208
Email: rburris@uky.edu
Specialization:

  1. Cow-calf nutrition
    Feeder calf health programs
    Beef cattle management

Donna Amaral-Phillips, Extension Professor, Dairy
Contact Phone(s): (859) 257-7542
Email: damaral@uky.edu
Specialization:

  1. Dairy nutrition
    Grazing management

Terry Hutchens, Extension Goat Specialist
Contact Phone(s): (859) 257-2465
Email: thutchen@uky.edu
Specialization:

  1. Goat breeding, nutrition, marketing

Tony Pescatore, Professor, Poultry Extension Specialist
Contact Phone(s): (859) 257-7529
Email: apescato@uky.edu
Specialization:

  1. Poultry production and management

Gary Cromwell, Professor, Swine Nutrition
Contact Phone(s): (859) 257-7534
Email: gcromwel@uky.edu
Specialization:

  1. Swine nutrition

Robert Coleman, Assistant Professor, Equine Extension
Contact Phone(s): (859) 257-9451
Email: rcoleman@uky.edu
Specialization:

  1. Equine nutrition, management

Ed Squires, Equine Initiative director and Dickson Professor of Equine Science and Management
Contact Phone(s): 859-218-1176
Email: elsq222@uky.edu
Specialization:

  1. Equine Initiative

Melissa Newman, Associate Professor, Food Microbiology, Food Safety
Contact Phone(s): (859) 257-5881
Email: mnewman@uky.edu
Specialization:

  1. Food safety, microbiology

Gregg Rentfrow, Assistant Professor, Extension Meat Specialist
Contact Phone(s): (859) 257-7550
Email: gregg.rentfrow@uky.edu
Specialization:

  1. Meat science
    4-H, FFA programs

Biosystems and Agricultural Engineering

Carmen Agouridis, Assistant Professor, Bioenvironmental Engineering
Contact Phone(s): (859) 257-3000, ext. 207
Email: carmen.agouridis@uky.edu
Specialization:

  1. Water resources
    Stream restoration
    Mine reclamation

Stephen Higgins, Director, Environmental Compliance for the Agricultural Experiment Station
Contact Phone(s): (859) 257-3000, ext. 120
Email: shiggins@uky.edu
Specialization:

  1. Environmental compliance, waste management
    Ag water quality
    Livestock best management practices

Czarena Crofcheck, Associate Professor, Food and Bioprocess Engineering
Contact Phone(s): (859) 257-3000, ext. 212
Email: crofcheck@uky.edu
Specialization:

  1. Bioprocessing and Biofuels

Michael Montross, Associate Professor
Contact Phone(s): (859) 257-5671
Email: Michael.montross@uky.edu
Specialization:

  1. Drying, storing and processing of grains and oilseeds
    Granular mechanics
    Finite element modeling

Sue Nokes, Professor and Department Chair
Contact Phone(s): (859) 257-3000, ext. 128
Email: sue.nokes@uky.edu
Specialization:

  1. Solid-state fermentation, biofuels

Fred Payne, Extension Professor, Beef Cattle Genetics
Contact Phone(s): (859) 257-3000, ext. 210
Email: fred.payne@uky.edu
Specialization:

  1. Optical Sensor for Food Process, monitoring and control

Mark Purschwitz, Extension Professor, Agricultural Safety and Health Specialist
Contact Phone(s): (859) 257-3000, ext. 104
Email: purschwitz@uky.edu
Specialization:

  1. Extension and applied research programs in agricultural safety and health, particularly in the prevention of traumatic injuries involving farm tractors and machinery

Tim Stombaugh, Associate Extension Professor
Contact Phone(s): (859) 257-3000, ext. 214
Email: tss@uky.edu
Specialization:

  1. Precision agriculture
    Machinery

Don Colliver, Professor, Controlled Environment Systems
Contact Phone(s): (859) 257-3000, ext. 211
Email: dcolliver@uky.edu
Specialization:

  1. Residential housing and environmental design
    Renewable energy production and use
    Building design

Crops

Paul Bertsch, Professor and director for the Tracy Farmer Institute for Sustainability and the Environment
Contact Phone(s): 859-257-1651
Email: paul.bertsch@uky.edu
Specialization:

  1. Soil and environmental chemistry

Joe Chappell, Professor of plant biochemistry
Contact Phone(s): 859-218-0775
Email: chappell@uky.edu
Specialization:

  1. medicinal plants, turning algae into biofuels, biology of plant chemicals

Jim Herbek, Grain Crops Extension Specialist
Contact Phone(s): 270-365-7451, ext. 205
Email: james.herbek@uky.edu
Specialization:

  1. No-till wheat
    Corn
    Soybeans

Michael Goodin, Associate professor, Department of Plant Pathology
Contact Phone(s): 859-257-7445 x 80725
Email: mgoodin@uky.edu
Specialization:

  1. Plant biotechnology

Don Hershman, Extension plant pathologist
Contact Phone(s): 270-365-7541, ext. 215
Email: don.hershman@uky.edu
Specialization:

  1. Soybean and wheat diseases

Krista Jacobsen, Assistant professor, horticulture
Contact Phone(s): 859-257-3921
Email: Krista.jacobsen@uky.edu
Specialization:

  1. Sustainable agriculture
    Organic farming

Tom Keene, Hay Marketing Specialist
Contact Phone(s): 859-257-3144
Email: tom.keene@uky.edu
Specialization:

  1. Switchgrass’ biofuel potential

Chad Lee, Grain Crops Extension Specialist
Contact Phone(s): 859-257-3203
Email: chad.lee@uky.edu
Specialization:

  1. Corn, soybeans and wheat field conditions

Bob Pearce, Extension Tobacco Specialist
Contact Phone(s): 859-257-5110
Email: rpearce@uky.edu
Specialization:

  1. Tobacco production

Kenny Seebold, Extension plant pathologist
Contact Phone(s): 859-257-7445, ext.80721
Email: kwseebold@uky.edu
Specialization:

  1. Tobacco, vegetable and greenhouse diseases

Frank Sikora, Soil Test Coordinator
Contact Phone(s): (859) 257-2785
Email: frank.sikora@uky.edu
Specialization:

  1. Soil testing

Chris Thompson, Seed Regulatory Coordinator
Contact Phone(s): (859) 257-2785, ext. 240
Email: chris.thompson@uky.edu
Specialization:

  1. Seed inspection, regulation and testing

Paul Vincelli, Extension plant pathologist
Contact Phone(s): 859-257-7445, ext. 80722
Email: pvincell@uky.edu
Specialization:

  1. Corn, turfgrass and forage diseases

David Williams, Turfgrass Professor
Contact Phone(s): 859-257-2715
Email: dwilliam@uky.edu
Specialization:

  1. Miscanthus’ biofuel potential

Entomology

Grayson Brown, Professor
Contact Phone(s): 859-257-3125
Email: gcbrown147@gmail.com
Specialization:

  1. Mosquitoes, specifically insecticide control and aerial applications

Steve Dobson, Professor
Contact Phone(s): 859-257-4902
Email: sdobson@uky.edu
Specialization:

  1. Mosquitoes

John Obrycki, Department chair and state entomologist
Contact Phone(s): 859-257-7450
Email: john.obrycki@uky.edu
Specialization:

  1. Hemlock woolly adelgid
    Emerald ash borer

Dan Potter, Professor
Contact Phone(s): 859-257-7458
Email: dapotter@uky.edu
Specialization:

  1. Insects pests of turf and vineyards
    Mare reproductive loss syndrome
    Japanese beetles
    Biological control

Mike Potter, Extension professor
Contact Phone(s): 859-257-2398
Email: mpotter@uky.edu
Specialization:

  1. Bed bugs

Lee Townsend, Extension professor
Contact Phone(s): 859-257-7455
Email: ltownsen@uky.edu
Specialization:

  1. Mare Reproductive Loss Syndrome
    Emerald Ash Borer
    Hemlock woolly adelgid

Bruce Webb, Professor
Contact Phone(s): 859-257-7415
Email: bawebb@uky.edu
Specialization:

  1. Mare Reproductive Loss Syndrome

Equine

Mats Troedsson, Director, Gluck Center and chair, Veterinary Science
Contact Phone(s): 859-218-1085
Email: m.troedsson@uky.edu
Specialization:

  1. Equine reproduction

Environment

 


Food Security

Tad Mutersbaugh, Associate Professor, Department of Geography
Contact Phone(s): (859) 257-1316
E-mail: mutersba@uky.edu
Specialization:

  1. Political ecology
    Rural development in Mexico

George Staples, Adjunct Professor, Patterson School of Diplomacy and International Commerce
Contact Phone(s): (859) 257- 4666
E-mail: cameroonegamb@yahoo.com
Specialization:

  1. Diplomacy
    Foreign Policy
    Ethics
    African Assistance and Development
    Africa
    Cultural Relations
    Human Rights

Keiko Tanaka, Associate Professor, Department of Community and Leadership Development and Co-Director of UK's Asia Center
Contact Phone(s): (859) 257-6891
E-mail: keiko.tanaka@uky.edu
Specialization:

  1. Role of agricultural science and technology in reconfiguring the relationship between production and consumption in the global context
    Politics surrounding food safety, healthy food, agricultural sustainability and food localization
    Asian societies and cultures

Forestry

Mary Arthur, Professor, forest ecology
Contact Phone(s): (859) 257-2852
Email: marthur@uky.edu
Specialization:

  1. Invasive species
    Prescribed burns
    Forest ecosystems

Thomas G. Barnes, Extension professor; wildlife extension specialist
Contact Phone(s): (859) 257-8633
Email: tbarnes@uky.edu
Specialization:

  1. Wildlife conservation
    Wildlife photography
    Biodiversity
    Habitat restoration
    Wildflowers

Chris Barton, Associate professor, forest hydrology
Contact Phone(s): (859) 257-2099
Email: barton@uky.edu
Specialization:

  1. Mountaintop removal reclamation

John J. Cox, Assistant adjunct faculty, wildlife and conservation
Contact Phone(s): (859) 257-9507
Email: jjcox@uky.edu
Specialization:

  1. Black bears, elk, wildlife; forest conservation

Deborah Hill, Extension professor
Contact Phone(s): (859) 157-7610
Email: dbhill@uky.edu
Specialization:

  1. Shiitake mushrooms
    Small woodlot management
    Forestry-related farm commodities
    International agroforestry; permaculture

Michael J. Lacki, Professor, wildlife ecology and management
Contact Phone(s): (859) 257-8571
Email: mlacki@uky.edu
Specialization:

  1. Bats

Jeffrey W. Stringer, Extension professor, hardwood silviculture & forest operations
Contact Phone(s): (859) 257-5994
Email: stringer@uky.edu
Specialization:

  1. Hardwood silviculture
    Forest operations
    Best management practices
    Kentucky Master Logger Program

Horticulture

Carol Baskin, Professor, Department of Biology
Contact Phone(s): (859) 257-3996
E-mail: ccbask0@uky.edu
Specialization:

  1. Life cycle ecology of herbaceous plants
    Ecology, biogeography and evolution of seed dormancy and germination

Tom Cottrell, Extension Specialist, Enology
Contact Phone(s): (859) 257-0037
Email: tom.cottrell@uky.edu
Specialization:

  1. Wine

Richard Durham, Associate Extension Professor, Consumer Horticulture
Contact Phone(s): (859) 257-3249
Email: rdurham@uky.edu
Specialization:

  1. Home horticulture

Marcia Farris, Director, The Arboretum
Contact Phone(s): (859) 257-6955
Email: mfarr2@uky.edu
Specialization:

  1. The Arboretum

Krista Jacobsen, Assistant professor, horticulture
Contact Phone(s): (859) 257-3921
Email: Krista.jacobsen@uky.edu
Specialization:

  1. Sustainable agriculture
    Organic farming

John Strang, Extension Professor, Fruit and Vegetable Crops
Contact Phone(s): (859) 257-5685
Email: jstrang@uky.edu
Specialization:

  1. Fruit, vegetables and farmer-to-consumer marketing

Landscaping

Ned Crankshaw, Professor and Chair
Contact Phone(s): (859) 257-7295
Email: ned.crankshaw@uky.edu
Specialization:

  1. Landscape architecture and design

Brian Lee, Associate Professor
Contact Phone(s): (859) 257-7295
Email: blee@uky.edu
Specialization:

  1. Land education and awareness

Livestock

Michelle Arnold, Ruminant Extension Veterinarian
Contact Phone(s): (859) 257-7190
Email: michelle.arnold@uky.edu
Specialization:

  1. Ruminant animal health

Bob Kiser, Interim Milk Coordinator
Contact Phone(s): (859) 257-2785, ext. 244
Email: rkiser@uky.edu
Specialization:

  1. Milk regulation

Machinery



Rural Economy and Development

Joanna Badagliacco, Associate Professor, Department of Sociology
Contact Phone(s): (859) 257-4335
E-mail: jmb@uky.edu
Specialization:

  1. Housing distress among the poorest families in KY, including rural families
    Reproduction and fertility
    Supplemental Security Income (SSI) among children
    Sociological implications of genomic research

Stephanie Blevins, Extension Specialist for 4-H Youth Development
Contact Phone(s): 859-257-5961, ext.240
Email: sblevins@uky.edu
Specialization:

  1. State Fair coordinator for 4-H

Orlando Chambers, Managing director, Kentucky Tobacco Research & Development Center; director of biotechnology relations
Contact Phone(s): 859-257-7044
Email: ochamb@uky.edu
Specialization:

  1. Tobacco economics and production

Danielle Clore, Director, Nonprofit Leadership Institute (Kentucky Nonprofit Network)
Contact Phone(s): 859-257-1037
Email: dclor2@uky.edu
Specialization:

  1. Nonprofit organizations
    Nonprofit regulations

David Ditsch, Director, Robinson Center for Appalachian Resource Sustainability
Contact Phone(s): (606) 666-2438, ext. 286
Email: dditsch@uky.edu
Specialization:

  1. Increase the long-term value added, sustainable income and sustainable flow of economic, ecological and social goods and services from the land, natural resources and people of Eastern Kentucky and the Appalachian Region.

Donna Fox, Extension Specialist for 4-H Youth Development
Contact Phone(s): 859-257-5961, ext.223
Email: dfox@uky.edu
Specialization:

  1. 4-H Camp

Lorraine (Lori) Garkovich, Professor, Community and Leadership Development
Contact Phone(s): 859-257-7581
Email: lgarkov@uky.edu
Specialization:

  1. farm family/household change
    Strategic planning and community visioning
    Land use issues

Jimmy Henning, Associate Dean for Extension and Director of Cooperative Extension Service
Contact Phone(s): 859-257-4402
Email: jimmy.henning@uky.edu
Specialization:

  1. Cooperative Extension Service

William Hoyt, Director, Martin School of Public Policy & Administration and Professor of Economics, Gatton College of Business and Economics
Contact Phone(s): (859) 257-2518
E-mail: whoyt@uky.edu
Specialization:

  1. Taxation
    Tax Policy
    State/Local Finance
    Economic Development
    Economic Impacts (Public, Private Projects & investments)
    Impact of Taxes/Expenditures on Employment
    Economic Activity
    Intergovernmental Relations
    Government Expenditure Policy

Ron Hustedde, Extension professor, director Kentucky Entrepreneurial Coaches Institute
Contact Phone(s): 859-257-3186
Email: rhusted@uky.edu
Specialization:

  1. Rural entrepreneurship
    Trends and policies relation to entrepreneurial efforts

P.P. Karan, Professor, Department of Geography and Support Faculty, Patterson School of Diplomacy and International Commerce
Contact Phone(s): (859) 257-6953
E-mail: ppkaran@uky.edu
Specialization:

  1. Development and environmental management
    Geography of multinational corporations
    Society-environment relationships
    Asia/Pacific, Japan, South Asia

Patrick Mooney, Professor and Chair, Department of Sociology
Contact Phone(s): (859) 257-4409
E-mail: phmooney@uky.edu
Specialization:

  1. Rural sociology with emphases on rural class structure, social movements and cooperatives
    Social change
    Food security

Shaunna Scott, Associate Professor and Director of Graduate Studies, Department of Sociology
Contact Phone(s): (859) 257-6882
E-mail: shaunna.scott@uky.edu
Specialization:

  1. Social inequality
    Gender
    Politics of identity and commemoration
    Participatory action research and social movements in Appalachia and Northern Ireland
    Understanding and promoting democratic practices and social justice projects in stratified, rural contexts

Updated November 14, 2011 by Web Administrator