ARTS EXPERTS AT UK

Faculty and research experts at the University of Kentucky (UK) are available to speak to the news media about a variety of topics ranging from finance and economics to literature and the arts. Members of the media wishing to interview or consult with these individuals should call (859) 257-1754.


Categories:


Art

Alice Christ, Associate Professor, Department of Art, College of Fine Arts
Contact Phone(s): (859) 257-2303
E-mail: Alice.Christ@uky.edu
Specializations:

  1. Art History
    Late Antique Art
    Ancient Art

Allan Richards, Associate Professor, Department of Art, College of Fine Arts
Contact Phone(s): (859) 257-3944
E-mail: richard@uky.edu
Specializations:

  1. Art Education

Marty Henton, Lecturer, Department of Art, College of Fine Arts
Contact Phone(s): (859) 257-2252
E-mail: marty.henton@uky.edu
Specializations:

  1. Art Education

George Szekely, Professor, Department of Art, College of Fine Arts
Contact Phone(s): (859) 257-4824
E-mail: gszek01@uky.edu
Specializations:

  1. Art Education

Robert Jensen, Associate Professor, Department of Art, College of Fine Arts
Contact Phone(s): (859) 257-2336
E-mail: Robert.Jensen@uky.edu
Specializations:

  1. Art Market
    Contemporary Art
    Modern Art
    Art History

Jane Peters, Associate Professor, Department of Art, College of Fine Arts
Contact Phone(s): (859) 257-1716
E-mail: jane.peters@uky.edu
Specializations:

  1. Art History
    Early Modern Art
    Baroque Art
    Renaissance Art

Gerald Ferstman, Associate Professor, Department of Art, College of Fine Arts
Contact Phone(s): (859) 257-6031
E-mail: gfers2@uky.edu
Specializations:

  1. Printmaking
    Drawing

Ebony Patterson, Assistant Professor, Department of Art, College of Fine Arts
Contact Phone(s): (859) 257-6055
E-mail: bonnibop@hotmail.com
Specializations:

  1. Painting

Hui Chi Lee, Lecturer, Department of Art, College of Fine Arts
Contact Phone(s): (859) 257-4312
E-mail: circledrawer@yahoo.com
Specializations:

  1. Painting
    Foundations

Anna Brzyski, Associate Professor, Department of Art, College of Fine Arts
Contact Phone(s): (859) 257-2291
E-mail: Anna.Brzyski@uky.edu 
Specializations:

  1. East European Art
    Art History
    19th Century Art
    Modern Art

Arturo Alonzo Sandoval, Alumni Endowed Professor, Department of Art, College of Fine Arts
Contact Phone(s): 859.273.8898
E-mail: a.sandoval@insightbb.com
Specializations:

  1. Fiber Art
    Modern Art

Benjamin Withers, Professor and Chair, Department of Art, College of Fine Arts
Contact Phone(s): (859) 257-2727
E-mail: bwithers@uky.edu
Specializations:

  1. Manuscripts
    Art History
    Medieval Art

Doreen Maloney, Associate Professor, Department of Art, College of Fine Arts
Contact Phone(s): n/a
E-mail: doreenmaloney@gmail.com
Specializations:

  1. New Media

Dmitry "Dima" Strakovsky, Assistant Professor, Department of Art, College of Fine Arts
Contact Phone(s): (859) 257-6041
E-mail: Dmitry.strakovsky@uky.edu
Specializations:

  1. New Media

Ruth Adams, Associate Professor, Department of Art, College of Fine Arts
Contact Phone(s): (859) 257-3280
E-mail: ruth.adams@uky.edu
Specializations:

  1. Photography

Dennis "Bones" Carpenter, Professor, Department of Art, College of Fine Arts
Contact Phone(s): (859) 257-3280
E-mail: dcarpenter1@windstream.net
Specializations:

  1. Photography

Garry Bibbs, Associate Professor, Department of Art, College of Fine Arts
Contact Phone(s): (859) 257-3719
E-mail: garry.bibb@uky.edu
Specializations:

  1. Sculpture

Jim Wade, Lecturer, Department of Art, College of Fine Arts
Contact Phone(s): n/a
E-mail: james.wade2@uky.edu
Specializations:

  1. Sculpture
    Foundations

Rae Goodwin, Assistant Professor, Department of Art, College of Fine Arts
Contact Phone(s): (859) 257-4315
E-mail: rae.goodwin@uky.edu
Specializations:

  1. Foundations

Andrew Maske, Assistant Professor, Department of Art, College of Fine Arts
Contact Phone(s): (859) 257-2344
E-mail: andrew.maske@uky.edu
Specializations:

  1. Art History
    Asian Art/Japanese Art

Robert Scroggins, Associate Professor, Department of Art, College of Fine Arts
Contact Phone(s): (859) 257-5371
E-mail: bobby.scroggins@uky.edu
Specializations:

  1. Ceramics

Robert Shay, Professor, Department of Art, College of Fine Arts
Contact Phone(s): (859) 257-1707
E-mail: rshay@uky.edu
Specializations:

  1. Ceramics

Hunter Stamps, Assistant Professor, Department of Art, College of Fine Arts
Contact Phone(s): (859) 257-3291
E-mail: h.stamps@uky.edu
Specializations:

  1. Ceramics

Monica Visona, Assistant Professor, Department of Art, College of Fine Arts
Contact Phone(s): (859) 257-1398
E-mail: M.B.Visona@uky.edu
Specializations:

  1. Art History
    African Art

Kate Wheeler, Lecturer, Department of Art, College of Fine Arts
Contact Phone(s): (859) 257-9380
E-mail: wheeler@uky.edu
Specializations:

  1. Art History

Deirdre Scaggs, Associate Dean, Special Collections
Contact Phone: 859-257-3653
Email: Deirdre@uky.edu
Specializations:

  1. History of Photography

Arts Administration

Rachel Shane, Assistant Professor, Arts Administration Program, College of Fine Arts
Contact Phone(s): n/a
E-mail: Rachel.shane@uky.edu
Specializations:

  1. Arts Administration
    Theatre
    Theatrical Unions

Michael Braun, Director, Arts Administration Program, College of Fine Arts
Contact Phone(s): n/a
E-mail: Michael.braun@uky.edu
Specializations:

  1. Theatre
    Presenting and public support of the arts through local arts councils, state arts agencies and the National Endowment for the Arts

Dance

 


Music

John Cody Birdwell, Director of Bands, School of Music, College of Fine Arts
Contact Phone(s): (859) 257-2263
E-mail: cody.birdwell@uky.edu
Specialization:

  1. Marching Bands

George Boulden, Associate Professor, Associate Director of Bands, School of Music, College of Fine Arts
Contact Phone(s): (859) 257-2263
E-mail: gbould@uky.edu
Specializations:

  1. Marching Bands
    Music Education

James B. Campbell, Professor of Percussion, Director of Percussion Studies, School of Music, College of Fine Arts
Contact Phone(s): (859) 257-8187
E-mail: j.b.campbell@uky.edu
Specializations:

  1. Percussion

Carl Collins, Assistant Professor/Director of the Wildcat Marching Band, School of Music, College of Fine Arts
Contact Phone(s): (859) 257-2263
E-mail: carl.collins@uky.edu
Specializations:

  1. Marching Bands

Raleigh Dailey, Assistant Professor of Jazz Studies, School of Music, College of Fine Arts
Contact Phone(s): (859) 257-6413
E-mail: rdail2@uky.edu
Specializations:

  1. Jazz

Lori Hetzel, Associate Professor, Associate Director of Choirs/Choral Music Education, School of Music, College of Fine Arts
Contact Phone(s): (859) 257-8202
E-mail: lhetzel@uky.edu
Specializations:

  1. Voice
    Choral Music

Jefferson Johnson, Professor of Music, Director of Choral Activities, School of Music, College of Fine Arts
Contact Phone(s): (859) 257-5897
E-mail: jeff.johnson@uky.edu
Specializations:

  1. Voice
    Choral Music

Everett McCorvey, Director of Opera, Lexington Opera Society Endowed Chair in Opera, School of Music, College of  Fine Arts
Contact Phone(s): (859) 257-9331
E-mail: mccorvey@uky.edu
Specializations:

  1. Voice
    Opera
    Spirituals

John Nardolillo, Director of Orchestras, School of Music, College of Fine Arts
Contact Phone(s): (859) 257-2477
E-mail: nardolillo@prodigy.net
Specializations:

  1. Orchestra

Miles Osland, Professor of Saxophone, Director of Jazz Studies, School of Music, College of Fine Arts
Contact Phone(s): (859) 257-8173
E-mail: miles.osland@uky.edu
Specializations:

  1. Saxophone
    Jazz

Mark Clodfelter, Associate Professor of Trumpet, School of Music, College of Fine Arts
Contact Phone(s): (859) 257-7177
E-mail: markc@uky.edu
Specializations:

  1. Brass

David Elliott, Associate Professor of Horn, School of Music, College of Fine Arts
Contact Phone(s): (859) 257-8188
E-mail: david.elliott@uky.edu
Specializations:

  1. Brass

Skip Gray, Professor of Tuba and Euphonium, School of Music, College of Fine Arts
Contact Phone(s): (859) 257-8822
E-mail: skipgray@uky.edu
Specializations:

  1. Brass

Bradley Kearns, Lecturer of Trombone, School of Music, College of Fine Arts
Contact Phone(s): (859) 257-4484
E-mail:
Specializations:

  1. Brass

Lisa Osland, Instructor of Saxophone, School of Music, College of Fine Arts
Contact Phone(s): (859) 257-1628
E-mail: lisa.osland@uky.edu
Specializations:

  1. Jazz
    Saxophone

Vicki McVay, Director of the Piano Preparatory Program, Coordinator of Class Piano, School of Music, College of Fine Arts
Contact Phone(s): (859) 257-2863
E-mail: vmcva00@uky.edu
Specializations:

  1. Keyboards
    Class Piano

Schuyler Robinson, Professor of Organ and Sacred Music, School of Music, College of Fine Arts
Contact Phone(s): (859) 257-1724
E-mail: swrobin@uky.edu
Specializations:

  1. Organ
    Harpsichord

Irina Voro, Professor of Piano, School of Music, College of Fine Arts
Contact Phone(s): (859) 257-8170
E-mail: irinavo@uky.edu
Specializations:

  1. Classical Piano

Paul Deatherage, Instructor in Percussion, School of Music, College of Fine Arts
Contact Phone(s): 859-248-2483
E-mail: paul.deatherage@uky.edu
Specializations:

  1. Jazz
    Percussion

Elaine Humphreys Cook, Instructor in Harp, School of Music, College of Fine Arts
Contact Phone(s): (859) 257-1327
E-mail: harpline@qx.net
Specializations:

  1. Strings
    Harp

Dieter Hennings, Assistant Professor of Guitar, School of Music, College of Fine Arts
Contact Phone(s): (585) 284-7769
E-mail: dieterhennings@gmail.com
Specializations:

  1. Strings
    Guitar
    Latin American Music
    Early Music

Benjamin Karp, Associate Professor of Violoncello, Coordinator – Division of Voice, Keyboard and Strings, School of Music, College of Fine Arts
Contact Phone(s): (859) 257-8167
E-mail: bckarp00@uky.edu
Specializations:

  1. Strings
    Cello

Margaret Karp, Instructor in Viola and Violin, Coordinator of Strings, School of Music, College of Fine Arts
Contact Phone(s): (859) 257-3575
E-mail: mjbk2001@yahoo.com
Specializations:

  1. Strings
    Viola
    Violin

Deborah Lander, Assistant Professor of Viola, School of Music, College of Fine Arts
Contact Phone(s): (859) 323-0676
E-mail: debviola@gmail.com
Specializations:

  1. Strings
    Viola

Daniel Mason, Associate Professor of Violin, School of Music, College of Fine Arts
Contact Phone(s): (859) 257-3575
E-mail: damson@uky.edu
Specializations:

  1. Strings
    Violin

Karl Olsen, Instructor in Double Bass, School of Music, College of Fine Arts
Contact Phone(s): (502) 558-5538
E-mail: btonbass@yahoo.com
Specializations:

  1. Strings
    Bass

Elizabeth Arnold, Assistant Professor of Voice, School of Music, College of Fine Arts
Contact Phone(s): (859) 257-3563
E-mail: Elizabeth.Arnold@uky.edu
Specializations:

  1. Voice
    Early Music

Dennis Bender, Associate Professor of Voice, School of Music, College of Fine Arts
Contact Phone(s): (859) 257-2287
E-mail: dennis.bender@uky.edu
Specializations:

  1. Voice
    Russian Vocal Music

Angelique Clay, Assistant Professor of Voice, School of Music, College of Fine Arts
Contact Phone(s): (859) 257-2661
E-mail: angelique.clay@uky.edu
Specializations:

  1. Voice

Cynthia Lawrence, Professor, Endowed Chair in Music (Voice), School of Music, College of Fine Arts
Contact Phone(s): (859) 257-8597
E-mail: cynthia.lawrence@uky.edu
Specializations:

  1. Voice
    Opera

Tedrin Blair Lindsay
Lecturer, Vocal Coach, School of Music, College of Fine Arts
Contact Phone(s): (859) 257-9331
E-mail: tedrinlindsay@aol.com
Specializations:

  1. Voice
    Opera
    Broadway

Noemi Lugo, Professor of Voice, School of Music, College of Fine Arts
Contact Phone(s): (859) 257-2865
E-mail: nglugo00@uky.edu
Specializations:

  1. Voice
    Latin American Music

Stephen Penn, Vocal Coach and Lecturer, School of Music, College of Fine Arts
Contact Phone(s): (859) 257-9331
E-mail: pianostp@aim.com
Specializations:

  1. Voice

Nancy Clauter, Associate Professor of Oboe, School of Music, College of Fine Ars
Contact Phone(s): (859) 257-8171
E-mail: oboenan@uky.edu
Specializations:

  1. Woodwinds
    Oboe

Gordon Cole, Associate Professor of Flute, Director of Undergraduate Studies, School of Music, College of Fine Arts
Contact Phone(s): (859) 257-8172
E-mail: gordon.cole@uky.edu
Specializations:

  1. Woodwinds 
    Flute

Peter Simpson, Associate Professor of Bassoon, School of Music, College of Fine Arts
Contact Phone(s): (859) 257-4485
E-mail: peter.simpson@uky.edu
Specializations:

  1. Woodwinds
    Bassoon

Scott Wright, Associate Professor of Clarinet, School of Music, College of Fine Arts
Contact Phone(s): (859) 257-7184
E-mail: scott.wright@uky.edu
Specializations:

  1. Woodwinds
    Clarinet

Lori Gooding, Assistant Professor of Music Therapy, School of Music, College of Fine Arts
Contact Phone(s): 859-323-2905
E-mail: lori.gooding@uky.edu
Specializations:

  1. Music Therapy

David Sogin, Professor of Music Education, Coordinator of Music Education Division, School of Music, College of Fine Arts
Contact Phone(s): (859) 257-1038
E-mail: sogin@uky.edu
Specializations:

  1. Music Education

Cecilia Wang, Professor of Music Education, School of Music, College of Fine Arts
Contact Phone(s): (859) 257-8203
E-mail: Cecilia@uky.edu
Specializations:

  1. Music Education

Ben Arnold, Director, School of Music; Professor of Musicology, School of Music, College of Fine Arts
Contact Phone(s): (859) 257-4900
E-mail: ben.arnold@uky.edu
Specializations:

  1. Musicology

Lance Brunner, Associate Professor of Musicology, Director of Graduate Studies, School of Music, College of Fine Arts
Contact Phone(s): (859) 257-9541
E-mail: brunner@uky.edu
Specializations:

  1. Musicology
    Medieval Music
    20th Century Music

Jonathan Glixon, Professor of Musicology, Provost’s Distinguished Service Professor, School of Music, College of Fine Arts
Contact Phone(s): (859) 257-1694
E-mail: Jonathan.Glixon@uky.edu
Specializations:

  1. Musicology
    Italian Baroque Opera
    Renaissance Music
    Venetian Music
    Early Music

Beth Glixon, Instructor in Musicology, School of Music, College of Fine Arts
Contact Phone(s): n/a
E-mail: beth.glixon@uky.edu
Specializations:

  1. Musicology
    Italian Baroque Opera
    Venetian Music

Diana Hallman, Associate Professor of Musicology, Coordinator, Musicology Division, School of Music, College of Fine Arts
Contact Phone(s): (859) 257-8184
E-mail: Diana.hallman@uky.edu
Specializations:

  1. Musicology
    19th Century French Music
    American Music
    Opera

Donna Lee Kwon, Assistant Professor of Ethnomusicology, School of Music, College of Fine Arts
Contact Phone(s): (859) 257-8719
E-mail: donna.kwon@uky.edu
Specializations:

  1. Ethnomusicology
    Korean Music
    East Asian/Asian-American Popular Music

Ron Pen, Professor of Musicology, Director – John Jacob Niles Center for American Music, School of Music, College of Fine Arts
Contact Phone(s): (859) 257-8183
E-mail: ron.pen@uky.edu
Specializations:

  1. Musicology
    Folk Music
    Appalachian Music
    Country Music
    American Music
    John Jacob Niles

Joseph Baber, Professor of Composition, School of Music, College of Fine Arts
Contact Phone(s): (859) 257-1382
E-mail: jbaber@uky.edu
Specializations:

  1. Composition

Michael Baker, Assistant Professor of Music Theory, School of Music, College of Fine Arts
Contact Phone(s): (859) 257-1177
E-mail: mrbake00@uky.edu
Specializations:

  1. Music Theory

Karen Bottge, Assistant Professor of Music Theory, School of Music, College of Fine Arts
Contact Phone(s): (859) 257-8196
E-mail: Karen.bottge@uky.edu
Specializations:

  1. Music Theory

Richard Domek, Professor of Music Theory, School of Music, College of Fine Arts
Contact Phone(s): (859) 257-1966
E-mail: dicty@uky.edu
Specializations:

  1. Music Theory
    Jazz
    Composition

Kevin Holm-Hudson, Associate Professor of Theory, School of Music, College of Fine Arts
Contact Phone(s): (859) 257-8197
E-mail: kjholm2@uky.edu
Specializations:

  1. Music Theory
    Rock
    Popular Music

    Composition

Kuo-Huang Han, Asian Music, School of Music, College of Fine Arts
Contact Phone(s): (859) 257-4912
E-mail: k.han@uky.edu
Specializations:

  1. Asian Music

Theatre

Nancy C. Jones, Chair and Associate Professor, Department of Theatre, College of Fine Arts
Contact Phone(s): (859) 257-3297
E-mail: nancy.jones@uky.edu
Specializations:

  1. Acting
    Theatre Movement
    Theatre Directing

Russell Henderson, Associate Professor, Department of Theatre, College of Fine Arts
Contact Phone(s): (859) 257-4425
E-mail: Russell.Henderson@uky.edu
Specializations:

  1. Acting
    Acting - Voice

Robert Haven, Associate Professor, Department of Theatre, College of Fine Arts
Contact Phone(s): (859) 257-7506
E-mail: rwhave2@uky.edu
Specializations:

  1. Costume Technology
    Embroidery
    Tambour Beading

Nelson Fields, Associate Professor, Department of Theatre, College of Fine Arts
Contact Phone(s): (859) 257-6459
E-mail: nelson.fields@uky.edu
Specializations:

  1. Costume Design

Geraldine Maschio, Associate Dean, College of Fine Arts; Associate Professor, Department of Theatre, College of Fine Arts
Contact Phone(s): (859) 257-8201
E-mail: g.maschio@uky.edu
Specializations:

  1. Theatre History
    Theatre Theory
    Theatre Criticism

Rhoda-Gale Pollack, Professor Emeritus, Department of Theatre, College of Fine Arts
Contact Phone(s): (859) 257-7018
E-mail: rgpoll01@uky.edu
Specializations:

  1. Theatre History
    Theatre Theory
    Theatre Criticism
    Theatre Directing

Jennifer Goodlander, Assistant Professor, Department of Theatre, College of Fine Arts
Contact Phone(s): (859) 257-7018
E-mail: goodlander@uky.edu
Specializations:

  1. Theatre History
    Theatre Theory
    Theatre Criticism
    Theatre Directing

John Holloway, Professor, Department of Theatre, College of Fine Arts
Contact Phone(s): (859) 257-6458
E-mail: jholl2@uky.edu
Specializations:

  1. Theatre Lighting Design
    Theatre Scenic Technology

Tony Hardin, Associate Professor, Department of Theatre, College of Fine Arts
Contact Phone(s): (859) 257-9250
E-mail: tony.hardin@uky.edu
Specializations:

  1. Theatre Set Design
    Theatre Set Technology
    Theatre Lighting Design

Herman Daniel Farrell III, Assistant Professor, Department of Theatre, College of Fine Arts
Contact Phone(s): (859) 257-1385
E-mail: herman.farrell3@uky.edu
Specializations:

  1. Playwriting

Description: http://www.uky.edu/FineArts/Theatre/images/spacer.gifAndrew Kimbrough, Associate Professor, Department of Theatre, College of Fine Arts; Director of Graduate Studies, 2011-2014
Contact Phone(s): (859) 257-8165
E-mail: amkimb2@uky.edu
Specializations:

  1. Theatre Studies
    Theatre Performance

James W. Rodgers, Professor Emeritus
Contact Phone(s): n/a
E-mail: jwrodg@alltel.net
Specializations:

  1. Playwriting

Updated November 1, 2011 by Web Administrator