ENVIRONMENT EXPERTS AT UK

Faculty and research experts at the University of Kentucky (UK) are available to speak to the news media about a variety of topics ranging from finance and economics to literature and the arts. Members of the media wishing to interview or consult with these individuals should call (859) 257-1754.


Categories:


Earth & Environmental Studies

Shannon Elizabeth Bell, Assistant Professor, Department of Sociology
Contact Phone(s): (859) 257-6883
E-mail: shannon.eliz.bell@uky.edu
Specialization:

  1. Environmental sociology
    Gender and social movements
    Barriers to local participation in the environmental justice movement that has risen up against mountaintop removal mining in Central Appalachia

Sean Bemis, Assistant Professor, Earth & Environmental Sciences
Contact Phone(s): (859) 257-1374
E-mail: ewoolery@uky.edu
Specialization:

  1. Earthquakes

Frank R. Ettensohn, Professor, Earth & Environmental Sciences
Contact Phone(s): (859) 257-1401
E-mail: f.ettensohn@uky.edu
Specialization:

  1. Kentucky Geology
    Resources (Coal, Petroleum, Minerals)
    Fossils

Alan Fryar, Associate Professor and Director of Graduate Studies Earth & Environmental Sciences
Contact Phone(s): (859) 257-4392
E-mail: alan.fryar@uky.edu
Specialization:

  1. Hydrological contamination

Scott Gleeson, Associate Professor, Department of Biology
Contact Phone(s): (859) 323-3284
E-mail: skglees@email.uky.edu
Specialization:

  1. Plant adaptations and their community consequences
    Acquisition of and competition for multiple limiting resources

Peter Idstein, Earth & Environmental Sciences
Contact Phone(s): N/A
E-mail: peter.idstein@uky.edu
Specialization:

  1. Karst
    Caves
    Sinkholes
    Environmental Chemistry
    Hydrogeology

P.P. Karan, Professor, Department of Geography and Support Faculty, Patterson School of Diplomacy and International Commerce
Contact Phone(s): (859) 257-6953
E-mail: ppkaran@uky.edu
Specialization:

  1. Development and environmental management
    Geography of multinational corporations
    Society-environment relationships
    Asia/Pacific, Japan, South Asia

Daehyun Kim, Assistant Professor, Department of Geography
Contact Phone(s): (859) 257-6057
E-mail: biogeokim@uky.edu
Specialization:

  1. Biogeography
    Coastal/Forest ecology
    Soil-landform modeling
    Multivariate/Spatial statistics

David Moecher, Associate Professor and Director of Undergraduate Studies, Earth & Environmental Sciences
Contact Phone(s): (859) 257-6939
E-mail: moker@uky.edu
Specialization:

  1. Resources (Minerals)

Christopher Oliver, Lecturer, Department of Sociology
Contact Phone(s): (859) 257-6421
E-mail: christopheroliver@uky.edu
Specialization:

  1. Role of public and private institutions environmental management, law and policy
    Political, economic and social processes that have led to disproportionately and unevenly negative environmental and public health outcomes for certain members of society
    The use of science and technology in establishing environmental regulatory policy and law, in terms of their direct application to decision making and the use of science as "persuasive rhetoric."

Lynn Phillips, Lecturer, Department of Geography
Contact Phone(s): (859) 257-4140
E-mail: lphil2@uky.edu
Specialization:

  1. Environmental planning
    Sustainable cities
    Land use

Dhananjay Ravat, Professor and Chair, Earth & Environmental Sciences
Contact Phone(s): (859) 257-4726
E-mail: dhananjay.ravat@uky.edu
Specialization:

  1. Artificial Satellites
    Climate change
    Earthquakes
    Planets, Moons

Erik Reece, Senior Full-Time Lecturer, Writing, Rhetoric, and Digital Media
Contact Phone(s): (859) 257-6971
E-mail: erik.reece@uky.edu
Specialization:

  1. Environmental journalism

Morgan Robertson, Professor, Department of Geography
Contact Phone(s): (859) 257-0591
E-mail: mmrobertson@uky.edu
Specialization:

  1. Political ecology
    Commodification of nature
    Neoliberalism and the environment
    Wetland ecology and policy

Chris Romanek, Associate Professor, Earth & Environmental Sciences
Contact Phone(s): (859) 257-1952
E-mail: c.romanek@uky.edu
Specialization:

  1. Climate change

Randall Roorda, Associate Professor, Department of English and Writing, Rhetoric & Digital Media
Contact Phone(s): (859) 257-1033
E-mail: rroorda@uky.edu
Specialization:

  1. Composition and Rhetoric
    Environmental Literature and Discourse
    American Nature Writing
    Ecocriticism
    Literary Nonfiction

Edward Woolery, Associate Professor, Earth & Environmental Sciences
Contact Phone(s): (859) 257-3016
E-mail: e.woolery@uky.edu
Specialization:

  1. Earthquakes

Kevin M.Yeager, Associate Professor, Earth & Environmental Sciences
Contact Phone(s): (859) 257-5431
E-mail: kevin.yeager@uky.edu
Specialization:

  1. Coastal problems

Energy

Evan Hillebrand, Associate Professor, Patterson School of Diplomacy and International Commerce
Contact Phone(s): (859) 257-6928
E-mail: Evan.Hillebrand@uky.edu
Specialization:

  1. International Economics
    Economic Modeling
    Economic Relations
    Energy
    Modeling of Political Relationships
    Globalization

Bruce Hinds, Associate Professor and William Bryan Professor, Department of Chemistry
Contact Phone(s): N/A
E-mail: bjhinds@engr.uky.edu
Specialization:

  1. Nanomaterials synthesis
    Membrane processes
    Nano fabrication
    Carbon nanotube membranes
    Drug delivery
    Energy storage

Doo Young Kim, Assistant Professor, Department of Chemistry
Contact Phone(s): (859) 257-5597
E-mail: dooyoung.kim@uky.edu
Specialization:

  1. Electrochemistry
    Spectroscopy
    Electrochemical energy conversion and storage

Folami Ladipo, Associate Professor, Department of Chemistry
Contact Phone(s): (859) 257-7084
E-mail: fladip0@uky.edu
Specialization:

  1. Catalysis
    Energy research, specifically catalysis applied to biomass conversion

Sustainability

 Amanda Abnee Gumbert, Extension water quality liaison
Contact Phone(s): 859-257-0091
Email: acabne0@uky.edu
Specialization:

  1. Water quality
    Water quality regulations

Nancy Cox, Associate Dean for Research and Director of the Agricultural Experiment Station
Contact Phone(s): 859-257-3333
Email: nancy.cox@uky.edu
Specialization:

  1. Research
    Experiment station
    Equine Initiative, Food Systems Innovation Center
    Kentucky Research and Education Center
    Robinson Station
    Eden Shale

David Ditsch, Director, Robinson Center for Appalachian Resource Sustainability
Contact Phone(s): (606) 666-2438, ext. 286       
Email: dditsch@uky.edu
Specialization:

  1. Increase the long-term value added, sustainable income and sustainable flow of economic, ecological and social goods and services from the land, natural resources and people of Eastern Kentucky and the Appalachian Region.

John Hancock, Project director, Kentucky AgrAbility
Contact Phone(s): 859-257-1845
Email: jhancock@uky.edu
Specialization:

  1. AgrAbility

Krista Jacobsen, Assistant professor, horticulture
Contact Phone(s): 859-257-3921
Email: Krista.jacobsen@uky.edu
Specialization:

  1. Sustainable agriculture
    Organic farming

Mark Williams, Director of undergraduate studies, Sustainable Agriculture Program
Contact Phone(s): 859-257-2638
Email: mark.williams@uky.edu
Specialization:

  1. Sustainable agriculture
    Organic farming
    Horticulture

Sandra Zupan, Lecturer, Department of Geography
Contact Phone(s): (859) 257-6947
E-mail: sandra.zupan@uky.edu
Specialization:

  1. Urban redevelopment
    Planning and public participation
    Politics of urban sustainability and environmental justice
    Progressive community agendas and strategies
    Urban transformations in the post-socialist city

Weather

Tom Priddy, Extension meteorology specialist, director of Ag Weather Center
Contact Phone(s): (859) 257-3000, ext. 245
Email: priddy@uky.edu
Specialization:

  1. Weather forecasting

Chris Romanek, Associate Professor, Earth & Environmental Sciences
Contact Phone(s): (859) 257- 1952
E-mail: c.romanek@uky.edu
Specialization:

  1. Climate change
Updated November 11, 2011 by Web Administrator