Campus News Banner


By Ralph Derickson


Small UK Logo

The proposed Staff Senate would include up to 175 elected senators and would establish its own bylaws and election officers.

Small UK Logo

Dec. 12, 2001 (Lexington, Ky.) -- The University of Kentucky Board of Trustees today gave preliminary consideration to a proposed new governing regulation to establish an elected UK Staff Senate that will serve as a liaison between staff members and the UK administration, students and faculty.

The proposal will be on the agenda for official adoption at the Jan. 22 board meeting.

The Staff Senate will include up to 175 elected senators and will establish its own bylaws and elect officers.

A Staff Senate Development Task Force, an advisory group established by Russ Williams, the current staff representative on the 20-member UK Board of Trustees, will determine the process for electing staff senators.

The proposed new governing regulation establishing the Staff Senate authorizes the group to address the UK president or, through the staff trustee, the UK Board of Trustees, regarding any matter affecting the staff of the university.

A faculty senate with members representing all the university's colleges and academic departments has existed since the 1960s.

In other action, the Board of Trustees today renamed Sports Center Drive on the campus as Jerry Claiborne Way in honor of the late UK football coach, a native of Hopkinsville, who coached from 1982-89 and led the Wildcats to two bowl games. Claiborne lettered three years in football at UK.

The Board of Trustees named a new recreation center building adjacent to the Seaton Center in honor of Bernard "Skeeter" Johnson, a popular UK figure who was generally recognized as "Mr. Fitness" on the campus. Johnson, who died in May at 84, was a College of Education graduate, receiving a bachelor's in 1946 and a master's degree in 1949. Johnson began his 31-year career at UK as an instructor in the Department of Health, Physical Education and Recreation in 1946. He was director of the UK Campus Recreation Program for 13 years and in his last years, he lead a popular Gerifitness Program for older adults in the UK Donovan Scholars Program.

The board also voted to name the College of Medicine's main building for William R. Willard, who was the first dean of the UK College of Medicine and the first vice president of the UK Chandler Medical Center. The building will now be known as the William R. Willard Medical Education Building.

The board authorized the charge of a $65 per semester support fee for full-time students at Lexington Community College to compensate for the increasing enrollment at the school that has not been adequately financed by state funds compared with the other public institutions in Kentucky. Part-time students will pay a fee of $6 per credit hour.

Gifts and pledges totaling $3,930,510 from individuals and companies were also accepted by the UK Board yesterday, including a gift and pledge of $80,000 from UK President Lee. T. Todd, Jr. President Todd's gift will endow the DataBeam Professorship in Electrical and Computer Engineering in the College of Engineering. Dr. Todd was a professor in UK's College of Engineering and founded the company DataBeam.

Other gifts and pledges accepted by the board included:

-- $100,000 from James P. Gray II of Lexington,

-- $401,600 from Philip Morris, Inc., of Richmond, Va.,

-- $1,889,139 from the estate of John H. Clark,

-- $313,060 from Scott S. Smith of Atlanta, Ga.,

-- $313,060 from Sean S. Smith of Atlanta, Ga.,

-- $328,651 from Kenneth E. Nutter and Robert W. Nutter, Beavercreek, Ohio,

-- $120,000 from Wyeth-Ayerst Pharmaceuticals, Inc., Philadelphia,

-- $100,000 from the employees of Lexmark International, Inc., of Lexington,

-- $50,000 from the Northern Kentucky UK Alumni Club,

-- $135,00 from Ashford Stud of Versailles, and

-- $100,000 from Ann Scott and Ralph E. Mason of Maysville.

Back to Campus News Homepage