Campus News Banner


By Ralph Derickson


Small UK Logo

The Health Benefits Task Force will hold forums at four locations across campus.

Small UK Logo

Nov. 12, 2001 (Lexington, Ky.) -- A Health Benefits Task Force that has been reviewing health care costs for University of Kentucky faculty and staff members will present its proposed recommendations in four public forums set for Nov. 13 through Nov. 19.

The task force's recommendations for changes in the health care benefits program that will be discussed at the open forums are now available online at

President Lee T. Todd Jr. appointed the 12-member task force as one of his first official acts of business when he became UK President in July. The Task Force, chaired by Thomas Samuel of the College of Allied Health, has been holding hearings to review the cost of health care benefits for the university's faculty and staff members

The forums are set for:

-- 11 a.m. to noon, Tuesday, Nov. 13, in Worsham Theater in the UK Student Center;

-- 6:30 to 7:30 p.m. Tuesday, Nov. 13, in the E.S. Goodbarn;

--5 p.m. to 6 p.m. Thursday, Nov. 15, 115 Health Sciences Learning Center, and

-- Noon to 1 p.m. Monday, Nov. 19 in Seay Auditorium in the Agriculture Science Center-North building at Nicholasville and Cooper Drive.

In addition, forums will be televised for UK faculty and staff in communities outside the Lexington area from 2 to 3 p.m. Friday, Nov. 16, using the facilities of the Kentucky Telecare Network.  These forums will be accessible at the Hardin Memorial Hospital, Harrodsburg; Hazard Area Regional Hospital in Hazard, Pikeville Methodist Hospital, Pikeville; St. Claire Medical Center in Morehead, and Our Lady of Bellefonte Hospital in Ashland.

Another session November 19 will be broadcast at 1:30 p.m. to these College of Agriculture sites: Room 174, Western Kentucky Research & Education Center, Princeton, and Room 104, main office, Robertson Substation, Quicksand.

In addition to Samuel, other members of the task force are Sheila Brothers, endocrinology; Deborah Davis, UK Research Foundation; William Fortune, College of Law; David Hoke, Wellness Center; John Madden, retired economics professor; Karen Mayo, Lexington Community College registrar's office; Lee Meyer, College of Agriculture; William Reesor, Physical Plant; Anna Smith, Diagnostic Services (UK Hospital); Robert Stroup, emeritus faculty, and Roberta Young, Physical Plant.

Back to Campus News Homepage