Campus News Banner


By Kelley Bozeman


Small UK Logo

This year's recipient of the UK Alumni Association's Great Teacher Awards are Douglas D. Damm, J. Robert Gillette, Clair L. Hicks, David Lee Miller, Susan J. Scollay and Nikiforos Stamatiadis.

Small UK Logo

Feb. 19, 2002 (Lexington, Ky.) -- Six University of Kentucky faculty members have been honored with the UK Alumni Association's Great Teacher Award.

This year's recipient's were:

-- Douglas D. Damm, professor, College of Dentistry

-- J. Robert Gillette, associate professor, Gatton College of Business & Economics

-- Clair L. Hicks, professor, College of Agriculture

-- David Lee Miller, professor, College of Arts and Sciences

-- Susan J. Scollay, associate professor, College of Education, and

-- Nikiforos Stamatiadis, associate professor, College of Engineering

Celebrating its 41st anniversary, this award is UK's oldest continuous faculty recognition.

The UK Alumni Association's Great Teacher Award is particularly important because all nominations come from UK students. Recipients are chosen by the UK Alumni Association's Great Teacher Award Committee in cooperation with two student organizations: Omicron Delta Kappa and Mortar Board.

Citations, engraved plaques and individual cash awards of $2,000 were presented to the honorees at a luncheon in recognition of their accomplishments.

Back to Campus News Homepage