Campus News Banner


By Ralph Derickson

Small UK Logo

Jo-Ann Huff Albers

John S. Carroll

Virginia Gaines Fox

John S. Hager

Dinh Phuc Le

Brian Rublien

Small UK Logo

March 25, 2002 (Lexington, Ky.) -- Six new members of the Kentucky Journalism Hall of Fame have been announced and will be inducted at a luncheon Tuesday, April 2, in the University of Kentucky Hilary J. Boone Faculty Center.

All Hall of Fame members' pictures and biographies are exhibited in the Grehan School of Journalism and Telecommunications Building at UK.

The 2002 Hall of Fame inductees are:

Jo-Ann Huff Albers, director of the School of Journalism and Broadcasting at Western Kentucky University;

John S. Carroll, former editor of the Lexington Herald-Leader and now editor and executive vice president of the Los Angeles Times;

Virginia Gaines Fox, executive director and chief operating officer of Kentucky Educational Television;

John S. Hager, former co-publisher and co-editor of the Owensboro Messenger Inquirer;

Dinh Phuc Le, a former videographer for ABC in Vietnam and for the past 22 years the chief videographer for WLKY-TV in Louisville; and

Brian Rublein, news director at WHAS radio in Louisville for 21 years.

The new hall of fame members also will be introduced during the 25th Joe Creason Lecture and Student Awards Ceremony at 6 p.m. April 2 in UK's Memorial Hall. The lecture and awards ceremony are free and open to the public. The Creason Lecture and the Kentucky Journalism Hall of Fame are sponsored by the UK Journalism Alumni Association.

Back to Campus News Homepage