College of Communications Gives Awards

Contact: Ralph Derickson






Photo of Gene ClabesPhoto of Judith Clabes
Gene and Judith Clabes






Photo of Gifford Blyton
Gifford Blyton

Photo of Cathy Hunt
Cathy Hunt






Photo of Yvonne Cappe
Yvonne Cappe



LEXINGTON, Ky. (Dec. 3, 2004) -- Two longtime Kentucky newspaper journalists, Gene and Judith Clabes, received University of Kentucky College of Communications and Information Studies Outstanding Alumnus Awards today.

The college also awarded its annual Friend of the College, Outstanding Staff, Excellence in Teaching, and Faculty Research awards and gave several student scholarships at an awards dinner at the Campbell House Inn.

The Clabes, who grew up in Henderson, Ky., and now live on a horse farm in Bracken County, received the Outstanding Alumnus Awards for their shared commitments to journalism. Judith Clabes graduated from UK in 1967, and Gene Clabes graduated in 1969. She became president and chief executive officer of the Scripps Howard Foundation in 1996.

Gene Clabes was a reporter for the Henderson Gleaner and the Evansville Press and was publisher and editor of the Recorder Newspapers in the late 1980s. Judith Clabes became editor of the Scripps’ newspaper, the Kentucky Post in Covington, Ky., in 1982. She has served as president of the Kentucky Press Association and is a member of the UK Hall of Distinguished Alumni and the Kentucky Journalism Hall of Fame, housed at UK.

Judith Clabes also helped found the First Amendment Center in the UK School of Journalism and Telecommunications.

Gifford Blyton, who received his doctorate in communications from Ohio State University, was given the college’s 2004 Friend of the College Award. Blyton taught speech and communications at UK from 1948 to 1975 and coached the UK debate team for 21 years. He also served as the parliamentarian for the University Senate for 29 years during his career.

A professorship in Blyton’s name was endowed in the college by his former debate students in 2002.

The college’s Outstanding Staff Award was presented by Dean David Johnson to Cathy Hunt, a native of Scranton, Pa., who graduated from the UK School of Music in 1975 and the School of Library and Information Science in 1981. She is the college’s director for student services, overseeing the academic careers of some 300 freshman and sophomore students and all the seniors in the college.

Hunt received an Outstanding Student Advisor Award from UK in 1998, and the National Academic Advising Association (NACADA) named her its Outstanding Advisor in 1999.

Kevin Real, who has a doctorate in communications from Texas A&M in College Station, Texas, received the college’s Faculty Research Award. Real has received many awards and research grants, and his most recent paper, “Quality Improvement in Organizational Work Groups,” was presented at the International Communicators Association annual meeting in May. He received the 2004 Top Three Paper Award in the Health Communication Division of the International Communication Association Annual Conference in New Orleans, La.

The Excellence in Teaching Award went to Yvonne Cappe, a native of Hickory Ridge, Ark., who has been teaching in the UK School of Journalism and Telecommunications for five years. Prior to coming to UK, she worked for 21 years in newsrooms in Missouri, Louisiana and Ohio.

Cappe started her career as a photographer/editor, then spent time as a newscast producer, investigative producer, and special products producer for television stations. The past 10 years of her career were in management as an executive producer and assistant news director. At UK, Cappe teaches radio-television reporting, newscast production ,and advanced TV news.

Student awards included:

--The Bill Billiter Scholarship awarded to Meghan Cain, Owensboro, Ky.; the Hallie Day Blackburn Scholarship to Katie Foran, Fort Mitchell, Ky.; the Graduate School Multi-year Fellowship to Jennifer Link, Mount Orab, Ohio; Dean’s Fellowship Awards to Hung-yi Lu, of Taiwan, and Mary Lee Horosewski, Nashua, N.H.;

--The Department of Communication’s Outstanding Junior Award to Jaime Carter, Lawrenceburg, Ky.; the Department of Communication’s Outstanding Senior Award, Devin Fenison, Somerset, Ky.;

-- The R. Lewis Donohew Fellowship to Taressa Fraze, Elizabethtown, Ky.; the Shirley Rose Scholarship to Julie Berry, Lexington, Ky.; the Sypher Memorial Endowed Graduate Scholarship to Rajesh Gaur, India; and the Bruce Westley Memorial Scholarship to Mia Lustria, a native of the Philippines who now lives in Lexington.

Back to Campus News Homepage