David V. Hawpe

Photo of David V. Hawpe

Address: 507 Penwood Road, Louisville, KY  40206

Phone: (502) 295-8181

Email Address:

Length of Service on the Board: July 26, 2013-present

Term Expires: June 30, 2019

Offices/Positions Held on the Board: Member, Audit & Compliance Committee; Member, Human Resources and University Relations Committee.

Mr. David V. Hawpe is from Louisville, Kentucky.   In 2009 Mr. Hawpe concluded a 40-year career at his hometown newspapers, during which he rose from Eastern Kentucky  bureau reporter to managing editor, editorial director and editor of The Courier-Journal. During his tenure in leadership positions, the C-J won four Pulitzer Prizes.

Since retirement Hawpe has worked in political campaigns and served on the Morehead State University Board of Regents. Beginning with the 2013 Kentucky General Assembly session he has been senior aide to Sen. Morgan McGarvey.

He is a member of the national advisory council for the Appalachian Renaissance Initiative, the editorial board of the University Press of Kentucky, and the Teach Kentucky board of directors. He edited the book "Two Centuries of Black Louisville."

Hawpe graduated from the University of Kentucky in 1965 and was given an honorary doctorate from Lindsey Wilson College in 2009. He was a Nieman Fellow and faculty member at Harvard University, 1974-75, and completed a summer program in media law at Stanford University in 1969.

Throughout his career, Hawpe's industry-wide work focused almost entirely on fostering diversity in American journalism. In 2009 he received the James Madison Award for Service to the First Amendment and was given the Distinguished Service Award by the national Associated Press Managing Editors. He served as APME president and led the successful rewrite of its ethics policy, adding a mandate for diverse staffing and coverage by newspapers. Earlier recognition included the 1999 national Walker Stone Prize for Editorial Writing and that year's Anthony Lewis Media Award for Public Advocacy from the state Department of Public Advocacy.

Updated November 20, 2017 by Web Administrator