MINUTES OF THE UNIVERSITY SENATE, DECEMBER 3, 2001

The University Senate met in regular session at 3:00 pm, December 3, 2001 in the Young Library auditorium.

Members who were absent or did not sign in are: Charles Ambrose, Ali Amoli, Leon Assael, Rolando Berger, George Blandford*, Jack Blanton*, James Boling*, Anna Bosch, Beth Brady*, Ben Carr, Craig Chasen, Joseph Fink*, Matt Foltz, Raymond Forgue, Daniel Frank, Michelle Freed*, Richard Furst, John Garen, Hans Gesund, Robert Gewirtz, Tejas Ghadiali, Lori Gonzalez*, Louise Graham, Donna Grigsby*, O.J. Hahn, Victor Hazard, Patrick Herring, Kay Hoffman, James Holsinger, Patricia Howard*, Tom Janoski, Ling Hwey Jeng, Kyle Jewell, Doug Kalika*, Scott Kelley*, Kathi Kern*, Phil Kraemer, Richard Labunski, Thomas Lester, Pat Litzelfelner, Keh-Fei Liu, Josh Long, Mary Marchant, Joan Mazur*, Patrick McGrath, William McKinney*, Ralph Miller, David Mohney, Katherine Montague, Angel Moore, Michael Nietzel, Sue Nokes, William O'Connor, Amanda Perkett, David Pienkowski, Kenneth Roberts, Thomas Robinson, Tim Robinson*, Cynthis Ruder*, Edgar Sagan, Margaret Saunier*, Robert Schwemm, Robert Shay, David Sloan, Bill Smith, Scott Smith, Janella Spencer, Sheldon Steiner, William Thom, Lee Todd*, Allen Vestal, Brian Wade*, Retia Walker, Christopher Waller, Jane Wells*, Carolyn Williams, Eugene Williams, Emery Wilson, Don Witt*, Shawn Word, Laura Zembrodt, Sadia Zoubir-Shaw*.

* Excused Absences.

Visitors: Michael Collins, Roberta Dwyer

Chairperson Bill Fortune called the meeting to order.

1) There being no additions or corrections, the minutes of the November 12, 2001 meeting were approved as distributed.

2) The Chair announced the following rule waiver: The Senate Council waived the requirement that the time for a common exam in DIS 320 for the summer 2002 appear in the bulletin on the condition that the professor announce the time for the examination at the beginning of the semester and allow any inconvenienced students to take the exam at the scheduled time. The Chair also announced that the Senate Council had reinstated two students and denied one petition for reinstatement.

3) <u>Action item</u>: The Senate Council proposed an amendment to Senate Rule I-1.2.2.2 to provide a process to substitute students for student members of the Senate who are unable to attend Senate meetings because of class conflicts, and to provide for appointment of student members for Colleges which do not elect representatives.

Kaveh Tagavi moved to amend the proposal to add "and cannot attend the University Senate meetings" after "Senate meeting" in the second line of the proposal. On behalf of the Senate Council, Josh Profitt accepted this as a friendly amendment.

Kaveh Tagavi raised a question about the wording of the sentence in the seventh line of the second paragraph of the proposal, which read, "The Student Government Senate shall approve the nominee by majority vote." The Chair stated this was a matter of form which would be corrected before codification.

Page 2 University Senate Minutes 3 December 2001

The proposal passed on a voice vote without dissent. Before submitting the proposal to the Board of Trustees, the Chair substituted the following sentence for the sentence referred to above: "The nomination is subject to approval by a majority vote of the Student Government Senate." With this rewording and the floor amendment, the proposal is attached hereto.

4) The chair introduced the following former chairs of the Senate Council who were in attendance: Paul Sears, 1968; Bob Ogletree, 1969; Mike Adelstein, 1973; Joe Krislov, 1975 & 1980; Libbet Oberst for Paul Oberst, 1978; Bob Bostrom, 1984; Brad Canon, 1985; Wilbur Frye, 1986; Loys Mather, 1988; Don Leigh, 1989; Carolyn Bratt, 1990; Marcus McEllistrem, 1991; John Piecoro, 1992; Dan Fulks, 1993; Raymond Cox, 1994; and Gretchen LaGodna, 1995.

5) The chair introduced the following folks to present remarks to honor Gifford Blyton, the long-standing Parliamentarian of the Senate: Stan Craig, on behalf of former debaters; Marcus McEllistrem, on behalf of the Senate, and Bob Bostrom, on behalf of the College of Communications. Gifford Blyton responded with most gracious remarks. The Chair and Cindy Todd announced that plans were underway to build a case for trophies won by the UK debate teams, and the meeting was adjourned to a reception in the Young Library gallery.

The meeting adjourned at 4:45 pm

David Durant Secretary, University Senate

USMin 12.3.01

Item A

Amended (Final) version

Proposal to amend <u>University Senate Rules</u> Section I - 1.2.2.2, Elected Student Membership, C. Terms; Vacancies

To be submitted to the Board of Trustees for consideration. This would become the sixth paragraph of the Governing Regulations PART IV The University Senate (University System).

In the event that (i) the elected college or Graduate School representative is enrolled in a University course held at the same time as a University Senate meeting and cannot attend the University Senate meetings or (ii) a college or the Graduate School does not elect a representative during the preceding spring Student Government elections, the following substitution process shall apply:

Page 3 University Senate Minutes 3 December 2001

Substitution process: If (i) applies then the elected college or Graduate School representative shall nominate an at-large senator from the same college that meets the requirements for being a member of the University Senate and if there is no such at-large senator then the elected college or Graduate School representative shall nominate a full-time student from his/her college that meets the requirements for being a voting member of the University Senate. The nominee must be able to attend the University Senate meetings. The nomination is subject to approval by a majority vote of the Student Government Senate. If (ii) applies then the Student Government Senate Chair shall nominate an at-large senator from said college that meets the requirements for being a member of the University Senate and if there is no such at-large senator then the Student Government Senate Chair shall nominate a full-time student from said college that meets the requirements for being a member of the University Senate and if there is no such at-large senator then the Student Government Senate Chair shall nominate a full-time student from said college that meets the requirements for being a voting member of the University Senate. The nominee must be able to attend the University Senate meetings. The Student Government Senate shall approve the nominee by majority vote.

Term: The term for a Senator substitute shall be one semester, which begins immediately after Student Government Senate approval and ends at the conclusion of the semester the approval takes place.

Implementation: Spring, 2002

<u>Note</u>: If approved by the Senate and Board of Trustees, the proposal will be forwarded to Rules Committee for codification in the Senate Rules

WebMinutes12.3.01