College of Design

Architecture - Graduate

Restart your search

College of Design

The Master of Architecture is a first-professional graduate degree, accredited by the National Architecture Accrediting Board (NAAB). This two-year degree comprises the second part of a sequential “4+2” curriculum, in which a student obtains a four-year (non-professional) Bachelor of Arts in Architecture and concludes with the two-year, first-professional Masters of Architecture degree. Students who receive this degree are eligible to seek professional registration as an architect.

Master's Program Description

Applicants for admission to the master of architecture degree program must hold a bachelor of arts in architecture or a bachelor of architecture degree from a NAAB-accredited institution. Admission to the program is contingent on acceptance by the graduate school at the university of kentucky. Applicants are required to submit a portfolio, a personal essay on graduate expectations, transcripts, and gre scores.

Students who do not hold a bachelor of arts in architecture or bachelor of architecture degree from the university of kentucky must submit three letters of recommendation as well. Admission to the program is based on a review of the submitted materials.

Master's Application Requirements

Using one single spaced page, describe why you would like to study Architecture at the University of Kentucky.  Portfolio: The portfolio shall not exceed 50mb and should be limited to no more than 20 pages. Please use the link to upload your portfolio as a PDF document:

Students applying to the graduate program must provide a copy of their respective school’s NAAB Matrix. If your school is not part of a NAAB professional degree program and you would like to apply to the UK College of Design School of Architecture, please see our Undergraduate Application.



Application Deadlines

Fall: January 15th

Applications are not accepted in Spring or Summer sessions. 


College of Design

Get more information about going to the University of Kentucky