Banner Link to UK Academy for Undergraduate Excellence Division of Undergraduate Education

Diane Snow

Interim Director, Honors Program
Director, Undergraduate Research
Professor and Endowed Chair, SCoBIRC
Editor, Kaleidoscope


211 Funkhouser
Lexington, KY 40506-0054

Dr. Diane Snow joined The University of KY as an Assistant Professor of Neuroscience in the Anatomy and Neurobiology Department in the College of Medicine (1996), and has risen in the ranks to Professor and Endowed Chair of Neuroscience in the Spinal Cord and Brain Injury Research Center (2007-present).  Prior, she received her Bachelor of Science degree from The University of Akron in Natural Sciences/Biology with a minor in German (1985), a Master of Science degree in Neuroscience from Northeastern Ohio Universities College of Medicine and The University of Akron (1985), and a PhD in Neuroscience from Case Western Reserve University, Cleveland, OH with Jerry Silver, PhD (1990).  She did a Postdoctoral Fellowship and a Research Assistant Professorship at The University of MN (1990-1992; 1992-1996, resp.) with Paul Letourneau, PhD.  Dr. Snow’s research focus is spinal cord injury (SCI) and neural regeneration, with particular emphasis on a group of extracelluar matrix molecules, the chondroitin sulfate proteoglycans, which become upregulated following injury and block regeneration.  She has published over 50 scientific articles in relevant and high-impact journals in the field and has trained ~80 high school, undergraduate, graduate, postdoctoral and senior scientists in her laboratory. Dr. Snow is an officer in the National Neurotrauma Society and has served as President of Women in Neurotrauma for three terms. She has served as Director of the COPS Faculty Women Leadership Training Program at UK (2007-2010), is a graduate of the SECAC Academic Leadership Development Program (2011-12), and a graduate of the HERS Program for Women in Higher Education (2013-14). Her work has been supported by the National Institutes of Health (NIH), the US Department of Defense (DOD), the Kentucky Spinal Cord and Head Injury Research Trust (KSCHIRT), the Christopher and Dana Reeve Foundation (CDRF), the Brumagin Foundation, the American Paralysis Foundation (APA), and most recently, the “Walk to Run” Foundation, based in Minneapolis, MN.