Banner Link to UK Academy for Undergraduate Excellence Division of Undergraduate Education

The Gaines Center

The Humanities Foundation: Our Board

Current Board Members

Jennifer B. Coffman
U.S. District Judge (Retired), Eastern & Western Districts of Kentucky

Clay Dunn
Online Community Director at Share Our Strength. Creator and Writer of

Carol Farmer
Shadowlawn Farm              

Melody Flowers
Strategic Analysis Director, University of Kentucky

Joan B. Gaines
Co-founder of Gaines Center

Thomas Gaines
CEO, KBC International, Inc.
CEO, Gaines Thoroughbreds

Jim Gray
Mayor of Lexington, Lexington Fayette Urban County Government
CEO (Retired), Gray Construction Company

Steve Grossman, Chair of Board
Senior Vice President, Hilliard Lyons
Chair, Board of Trustees, Lexington Downtown Development Authority

Alan Hawse
Director, Cypress Semiconductor

Donna S. Hall

Adam Kegley
Member, Frost, Brown, Todd LLC

David Mohney
Curry Stone Chair, University of Kentucky College of Design

Josephine D. Richardson
Owner, The Cozy Corner Giftshop
Co-founder, Appalshop, Whitesburg, Kentucky

Daniel Rowland
Director Emeritus, Gaines Center for the Humanities

Josh Santana
Founding Partner, Santana and Fay, LLC

Ben Self
Founding Partner, West Sixth Brewing and The Bread Box
Founding Partner, Blue State Digital

Scott Shapiro
Senior Advisor, Office of the Mayor, Lexington Fayette Urban County Government

Jay Varellas
University of California, Berkeley

Holly Wiedemann
CEO, AU Associates, Inc. (Adaptive Use Developing)

James Woolery
Founder and Managing Partner, Hudson Executive Capital LP

Fellows’ Representative

Rachel Dixon
Senior Fellow

Ex officio Members

Eli Capilouto
President, University of Kentucky

Tim Tracy
Provost, University of Kentucky

Mark Kornbluh
Dean, College of Arts and Sciences, University of Kentucky

Remona Edenfield
Major Gifts Officer, Office of Development, University of Kentucky

Phil Harling
John R. Gaines Chair in the Humanities & Director of the Gaines Center

Lisa Broome
Director of Student Services, The Gaines Center

Advisory Board Members

John Cirigliano
CEO, Clearbrook Companies, Co-founder, Copaquen Associates, and Co-founder, Corporate Property Investors, a subsidiary of Simon REIT

Ouita P. Michel
Executive Chef and Co-Owner, Holly Hill Inn, Wallace Station Deli and Bakery, Windy Corner Market and Restaurant

Honorary Board Members

Edmund Pellegrino
John Carroll Professor of Medicine and Medical Ethics, Georgetown University Medical Center for Clinical Bioethics

Former Board Members

Raymond Betts,* Founding Director
Mrs. Mary Bingham*
Mrs. Joy Bale Boone*
Hon. Edward T. Breathitt*
Mr. Tom Bulleit
Mrs. Gloria Gaines Callen
Mr. John S. Carroll*
Dr. Thomas Clark*
Mr. Wendell Cherry*
Daniel Chetel
Mrs. Margarite Davis*
Dr. Nancy Dye*
Mrs. Lisa C. Ernst
Dr. William Freehling
Mr. John R. Gaines*
Mrs. Lois Gray*
Mr. Robert Massie
Mrs. Joan W. McGeachy
Mr. Boynton Merrill, Jr.
Dr. Elvis Stahr, Jr.*
Mr. Christopher Trower
Mr. Earl Wallace*
Mr. Wilson Wyatt, Sr.*
Mr. William T. Young, Jr. *

* Deceased