Banner Link to UK Academy for Undergraduate Excellence Division of Undergraduate Education

The Honors Program


The Honors Program awards 10 scholarships to incoming students thanks to the generous TW Lewis Scholarship fund.

T.W. Lewis Foundation Scholarship Program



The purpose of the T.W. Lewis Foundation Scholarship Program is to provide outstanding Kentucky students with the means to attend the University of Kentucky.  Awards will be granted on the basis of academic performance, demonstrated leadership potential, and financial need.  Preference will be given to students from Carter, Elliott, Lawrence, Menifee, Morgan, Johnson, Martin, Powell, Estill, Magoffin, Pike, Lee, Rockcastle, Owsley, Laurel, Knox, Bell, Whitley, McCreary,  Letcher, Leslie, Knott, Breathitt, Jackson, Clay, Floyd, Wolfe, Harlan, Perry or Fayette counties..


Applicants for the T.W. Lewis Foundation Scholarship Program must be full-time Kentucky residents who plan to complete high school in the spring of 2015, and must be enrolled as a full-time student.


The minimum academic requirements are as follows:

  • SAT Score                                            1800 (M+CR+W)
  • ACT Score                                            28
  • High School GPA (unweighted)      3.5


The T.W. Lewis Foundation Scholarship Program is designed to be a four-year award at $5,000 per year.

Funds will be paid directly to the university in the amount of $2,500 for the initial semester.  Additional funds will be awarded in the amount of $2,500 per semester.


In order to continue to receive scholarship funds under the T.W. Lewis Foundation Scholarship, each student is required to:

  • Maintain a minimum cumulative 3.0 collegiate GPA.
  • Carry a full course load each semester that will lead to a degree in four years.
  • Demonstrate a continuing financial need.  Students are required to provide annual written notice and disclosure (by August 1st) regarding all financial aid or scholarships received as well as any other significant changes in their financial need.
  • Failure to meet any of these continuing requirements could result in this scholarship being withdrawn.


Scholarship recipients will be selected on a competitive basis by using a combination of criteria:

  • Academic performance – class rank, GPA, SAT or ACT scores, and course difficulty.
  • Leadership potential – extracurricular activities, athletic involvement and/or community service.
  • Financial need – successful candidates must demonstrate an unfulfilled financial need whereby this scholarship would create an opportunity  that was otherwise not available.




You may also mail the application to the University of Kentucky, Honors Program, CRH2 002 – 361 Huguelet Drive, Lexington, KY 40506-0079.  If you have any questions, call 859-257-3111. 



  • T.W. Lewis Foundation Scholarship application must be submitted by February 15, 2015.
  • Interviews will be conducted in March/April 2015.
  • Scholarship awards will be announced by May 1, 2015.