Adobe Connect Best Practices - Post Meeting
This document has three main sections. To jump directly to a section, select a link!
- Room Maintenance - deleting meeting rooms and making a template
- Recordings - editing the recording, recording link availability, making a recording offline, and downloading and uploading content.
- Reports - summary, attendees, sessions, and questions reports
There are several ways to manage your meeting room after it is no longer active. You can delete it to keep your list of meeting rooms organized or you can make it a template.
Though meeting rooms can be kept for as long as needed, it is essential to delete rooms and content that are no longer needed. Not only does this help the Meeting Host keep meetings organized,but it also helps to maintain our self-hosted system.
Before you delete:
Go through the Meeting Information 'Content' and 'Recordings' sub-tabs (within Connect Central) to make sure that there is nothing that needs to be downloaded, moved, or 'made offline'
When you are in the meeting room, go through the layouts to make sure that there is nothing you need to extract from the pods (either as .rtf files or email to yourself)
End the Meeting
Double-Check everything! Once a room is deleted, it is deleted for good!
Making a Template
If there is a meeting room that you no longer actively use, but you would like to keep it to help create other meeting rooms - make it a template!
Before you make your room a template:
Within the meeting room, go through the layouts and make sure you do the following:
- extract any conversations you would like to save
- clear all pods
- make sure pods are up-to-date
- position and name the pods as you want them to appear
- be sure all poll pod results are extracted and cleared
- be sure that there are no break-out rooms
How to make your room a template:
Within Connect Central, select 'Meetings' tab
Find and check the box for the meeting you wish to make a template
Select the 'Move' button
Within the Move page, you should see 'Item(s) to move' (this is where your meeting(s) should be listed) and 'Move to this folder'
Select 'My Templates' folder
Select 'Move' button
You can now use this template to create meeting rooms over and over again (these will show up in your list of templates during the meeting room creation process). Any time a meeting room is created, the content from the most updated template version is used. Any time the template is updated, previously created meeting rooms are not updated.
Once a Meeting Host has finished recording a meeting (Stop Recording was selected before leaving the room), the recording will show up within Connect Central, under the room's 'Meeting Information', after the 'Recordings' sub-tab is opened.
The recorded meeting can then be edited, deleted, made public to stream or kept private to stream to only those in the 'Edit Participants' list, 'made offline', and downloaded or (if needed) uploaded to the Meeting Host's content folder.
When editing, it is best to review the recording once; taking note of the places within the recording that may need to be removed. Once you have a good idea of what pieces you would like to 'cut' out, move the in-point and out-point buttons to each time range and then select the 'Cut' button once you've selected the piece you do not want to keep.
You will need to do this for each piece of recording you would like to move. Once you are satisfied, select 'Save'. If you are not satisfied, select 'Undo' to take you back to the original. If you select Save and decide not to keep the edits you have made, you can select the 'Revert to Original' button.
Recording Link Availability
Once you have edited the recording to your satisfaction (or have decided to leave as-is), you can make the recording link available to the public (anyone who has the URL can view) or keep private (only those who are in the 'Edit Participants' list can view the URL). Your viewers will find that this is no ordinary recording! Any pod that your original attendees had access to, your recording viewers will have access to! For example, if your featured Files and Web Links pods full of content is accessible to attendees within your meeting, your recording viewers will have access to them as well!
To access the recording link, click on the recording name. You will want to highlight and copy the 'URL for Viewing'. You can send this URL to viewers in an email, an announcement, or post it within another website or course shell.
If you wish to make the recording 'Offline' or in other words, download it to your local machine as a .FLV (one file) to stream on another site, or to keep a copy as an archive, you can! Please note that the downloaded recording (.FLV) becomes a 'non-interactive' video.
When you make a recording 'offline', you are downloading it in 'real time', which means the recording will play as it is downloading. If your recording is longer than 45 minutes, there may be complications during the download process. Please be careful not to run too many other programs in the background of your local machine while downloading.
Download in Parts (as .ZIP)
Another option to making a recording offline as a .FLV video (recommended for non-technical Meeting Hosts) is downloading the recording in as a .ZIP. Input the recording URL within a browser field followed by this string of characters "output/[desired .ZIP file name].zip?download=zip".
For example, the URL would then look like: https://connect.uky.edu/notaroomrecordingurl/output/notaroomrecording.zi... where notaroomrecording.zip. This is the name of the .ZIP file that will download to the local machine.
The Meeting Host will then be able to use the .ZIP file to perform advanced editing if they have the software and know-how!
Along with the recording issues that we have already encountered, we have also discovered that the .ZIP file that is downloaded to the local machine (see the Download in Parts section above) can be uploaded back into the Meeting Host's Content area.
To upload to the Meeting Host's content area:
Log into Connect Central (https://connect.uky.edu) using link blue login ID and password
Select the 'Content' tab (Meeting Host should be directed automatically to his/her own content folder)
Select the 'New Content' button
Within the 'New Content' page, select browse to find the .ZIP that was previously downloaded
Input a title of the 'new' recording and give a custom URL (if you like) and description
Once the upload has processed, the Meeting Host will be able to manage the recording as if it was in the meeting room (set permissions, email link, edit recording, make offline, and delete).
Meeting Hosts have the ability to view reports about the meeting rooms they create. The 'Reports' feature can be accessed within the 'Meeting Information' page of a meeting room (within Connect Central's Meetings tab).
The Meeting Host is able to see information in several different ways:
The Summary Report shows the Meeting Host aggregate meeting information, including the name, viewing URL, number of Unique Sessions, Most Recent Session (the last time anyone other than Meeting Host entered the meeting room), number of people invited, number of people who have attended, and Peak Users (greatest number of people who have entered the room at any one time).
The By Attendees Report shows a list containing the names and email addresses of each meeting participant, as well as the time they entered and left the meeting room.
The By Session Report shows a list containing the start and end time of each session, the session number, and the number of attendees. By clicking on the Session number, it displays the participant list for this session, including participant name and times when he/she has entered and left the meeting room.
The By Questions Report is a list containing each poll by session number, number of questions and the question itself. The Meeting Host can drill down to two separate views by clicking the appropriate link under the Report column:
Either 'View answer distribution', which shows a pie chart in which each answer is color-coded with a unique color.
Or 'View user responses', which provides an answer key that lists each answer for this poll and its corresponding answer number. This option also displays a list of all the participants who responded in this poll and the number of the answer they selected (if the poll question allowed multiple responses, these are all shown for the user).