Search Login University of Kentucky

Curated Content  »  News  »  Students

The Kentuckiana Masonry Institute awarded scholarships to eight architecture students

April 28, 2011   |   School, Students

Each year, the Kentuckiana Masonry Institute sponsors a design competition for students in the University of Kentucky's School of Architecture. This year the design competition explored the idea of transformation in masonry.

Students were required to design and build a sculpture using no more that 100 modular bricks, covering an area no greater than 12 square feet, in front of Pence Hall. Only mechanical fasteners were allowed.

Eight students (see below) won the competition and were awarded scholarships at the Kentuckiana Masonry Institute’s Annual Architectural Awards Luncheon, held Wednesday, April 20, at the Frankfort Country Club, in Frankfort, Kentucky. 

  • First Place - Kendall Latham and Hannah Moore
  • Second Place - Brittany Dingeldein and Haley Koesters
  • Third Place - Ted Madden and Alex Culler
  • Fourth Place - John McAllister and Geoffrey Sorrell