Banner Link to UK International Center

Cultural Diversity Festival Committee

The Cultural Diversity Festival Committee serves to coordinate and plan activities that enrich the lives of students, faculty and staff through exposure to programs that are culturally stimulating, intellectually challenging and representative of a global community. The committee is dedicated to the principle that the ideals of a global community are best pursued, understood and celebrated through active engagement with the diverse range of thoughts and experiences that reflect the value of all people.

The committee is comprised of students, faculty and staff — each of whom volunteers their time and expertise. Its goals and objectives are:

  1. To coordinate a series of events celebrating diversity.
  2. To involve student organizations in planning activities that contribute to the program
  3. To involve colleges and departments in planning intellectually challenging topics for presentation and discussion; ie., forums. lectures, workshops.
  4. To incorporate at least one internationally known concert artist in the program.
  5. To engage the talents of students, faculty, and staff.
  6. To present programs with professional quality.

Get to know the chairs and members of Cultural Diversity Festival Committee 2014:

Larry Crouch, Student Affairs 
Debra Ross, Auxiliary Services 
Karen Slaymaker, International Center 

Committee Members
Ben Allen, WRFL
Suzanne Anandappa, Graduate School
Lyda Arvin, Student
Azetta Beatty, Stuckert Career Center
Daniel Buckingham, Student
Paula Dunn, Graduate & Family Housing
Brett Evans, Student
Robert Hansel, WUKY
Kathy Hight, WUKY
Lenroy Jones, Stuckert Career Center
Eun Young Kim, School of Interiors
Philip Mathis, Residence Life
Jessica Neiser, Student
Julia Jacobs-Phillips, Dean of Students
Melinda Plymale, Dining Services
Ray Schmidt, Dining Services
Siddhi Shroff, Residence Life