College of Public Health students graduating
Kentucky and Appalachia Public Health Training Center

Franklin County, Northern Kentucky Independent & Three Rivers Receive Accreditation

A First! Please join the KAPHTC in congratulating Kentucky’s three health departments who were recently awarded five-year accreditation by the Public Accreditation Board (PHAB): Franklin County Health Department, Northern Kentucky Independent District Health Department, and Three Rivers District Health Department. Three Kentucky LHDs were among eleven health departments nationally who completed the voluntary accreditation process and were awarded 5-year Accreditation status.  The accreditation process establishes standards to lead health departments through a process of data gathering, self-reflection, and identification of areas of strength and suggestions for quality improvement.

Related links:,, and