UK - NOYCE Fellows Program

New Opportunities Yielding Classroom Excellence

Applications for the

2010-2011 School Year are due May 1, 2010!

UK-NOYCE is a part of University of Kentucky's Partnership Institute for Mathematics and Science Education Reform as well as

College of Education

College of Arts and Sciences

College of Engineering


Sarah Cole

201 Morgan Building

UK-NOYCE Fellows General Information

  • College seniors, or graduate students (including post-baccalaureate) students may apply for up to two (2) years for the fellowship support.

  • Applicants must be U.S. Citizens or permanent residents.

  • Successful applicants will receive a fellowship in the form of a loan. In order to fulfill the obligations for the fellowship, UK-NOYCE Fellows must teach two years of math and/or science in an identified (high need) public school district in Kentucky (see list below for identified school districts). UK-NOYCE Fellows will receive full salary from the school district in which they are employed while meeting this requirement.

    • 1 year of UK-NOYCE Fellowship = 2 years of teaching

    • 2 years of UK-NOYCE Fellowship = 4 years of teaching

  •  If the years of teaching obligation are not met within 6 years of receiving the fellowship, the UK-NOYCE Fellow will be required to repay the fellowship amount plus interest (to be determined based off the government interest rate for student loans).

  • A high need school district must meet one or more of the following criteria (a list of school districts eligible are listed at the end of this page):

A.  It has at least one school in which 50 percent or more of the enrolled students are eligible for participation in the free and reduced price lunch program established by the Richard B. Russell National School Lunch Act (42 U.S.C.1751 et seq.).

B.  It has at least one school in which: (i) more than 34 percent of the academic classroom teachers at the secondary level (across all academic subjects) do not have an undergraduate degree with a major or minor in, or a graduate degree in, the academic field in which they teach the largest percentage of their classes; or (ii) more than 34 percent of the teachers in two of the academic departments do not have an undergraduate degree with a major or minor in, or a graduate degree in, the academic field in which they teach the largest percentage of their classes.

C.  It has at least one school whose teacher attrition rate has been 15 percent or more over the last three school years.

  • Applicants must be enrolled in a STEM undergraduate major (this includes the secondary mathematics education and secondary science education undergraduate programs) or enrolled in the Master's with Initial Certification (MIC) Program in Math or Science at the University of Kentucky.

  • Outside applicants and career changers are encouraged to apply!

  • Each UK-NOYCE Fellow may have an additional academic advisor in order to make sure they are on track for meeting science and/or math certification requirements.

  • A UK-NOYCE Fellow is expected to maintain "good standing" at the University of Kentucky and with the Math/Science Education Program.

  • UK-NOYCE Fellows will be awarded 1/2 of the money per semester. Awards will be administered through the Financial Aid Offices. Prior to receiving the fellowship, UK-NOYCE Fellows must sign a promissory note.

  •  Students must submit a Continued Funding Request (found under Application Materials) in order to be approved for a second (2nd) year of UK-NOYCE support.

The following school districts meet one or more of the above criteria for a high need school district:

Eligible School Districts

Adair Co

Breckinridge Co

Covington Ind

Frankfort Ind

Allen Co

Bullitt Co

Crittenden Co

Franklin Co

Ashland Ind

Butler Co

Cumberland Co

Fulton Co

Augusta Ind

Caldwell Co

Danville Ind

Fulton Ind

Ballard Co

Calloway Co

Daviess Co

Gallatin Co

Barbourville Ind

Campbell Co

Dawson Springs Ind

Garrard Co

Bardstown Ind

Campbellsville Ind

Dayton Ind

Grant Co

Barren Co

Carlisle Co

East Bernstadt Ind

Graves Co

Bath Co

Carroll Co

Edmonson Co

Grayson Co

Bell Co

Carter Co

Elizabethtown Ind

Green Co

Bellevue Ind

Casey Co

Elliott Co

Greenup Co

Berea Ind

Caverna Ind

Eminence Ind

Hancock Co

Boone Co

Christian Co

Erlanger-Elsmere Ind

Hardin Co

Bourbon Co

Clark Co

Estill Co

Harlan Co

Bowling Green Ind

Clay Co

Fairview Ind

Harlan Ind

Boyd Co

Clinton Co

Fayette Co

Harrison Co

Boyle Co

Cloverport Ind

Fleming Co

Hart Co

Breathitt Co

Corbin Ind

Floyd Co

Hazard Ind

Henderson Co

Ludlow Ind

Newport Ind

Silver Grove Ind

Henry Co

Lyon Co

Nicholas Co

Somerset Ind

Hickman Co

Madison Co

Ohio Co

Spencer Co

Hopkins Co

Magoffin Co

Owen Co

Taylor Co

Jackson Co

Marion Co

Owensboro Ind

Todd Co

Jackson Ind

Marshall Co

Owsley Co

Trigg Co

Jefferson Co

Martin Co

Paducah Ind

Trimble Co

Jenkins Ind

Mason Co

Paintsville Ind

Union Co

Jessamine Co

Mayfield Ind

Paris Ind

Warren Co

Johnson Co

McCracken Co

Pendleton Co

Washington Co

Kenton Co

McCreary Co

Perry Co

Wayne Co

Knott Co

McLean Co

Pike Co

Webster Co

Knox Co

Meade Co

Pineville Ind

West Point Ind

LaRue Co

Menifee Co

Powell Co

Whitley Co

Laurel Co

Mercer Co

Providence Ind

Williamsburg Ind

Laurel Co

Metcalfe Co

Pulaski Co

Wolfe Co

Laurel Co

Middlesboro Ind

Robertson Co

Woodford Co

Leslie Co

Monroe Co

Rockcastle Co


Letcher Co

Montgomery Co

Rowan Co

Lewis Co

Monticello Ind

Russell Co

Lincoln Co

Morgan Co

Russellville Ind

Livingston Co

Muhlenberg Co

Scott Co

Logan Co

Nelson Co

Shelby Co

School Districts NOT Eligible:

Private Schools, Anchorage Independent, Anderson County, Beechwood Independent, Bracken County, Burgin Independent, Fort Thomas Independent, Glasgow Independent, Murray Independent,  Oldham County, Pikeville Independent, Raceland Worthington Independent, Russell Independent, Science Hill Independent, Simpson County, Southgate Independent, Walton Verona Independent, and Williamstown Independent


   Funding for UK NOYCE Provided by NSF # 3048104043

For best viewing, a current browser is recommended.
The University of Kentucky is an equal opportunity university. Some web sites to which these materials link are NOT managed by the University of Kentucky.
The university does not review, control, or take responsibility for the content of those sites. Copyright University of Kentucky College of Education 1995 - 2009, All rights reserved


Designed&programed by Jan Horak, JDdesign, The Czech Republic, 2006