The Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges is the regional body for the accreditation of degree-granting higher education institutions in the Southern states. It serves as the common denominator of shared values and practices among the diverse institutions in Alabama, Florida, Georgia, Kentucky, Louisiana, Mississippi, North Carolina, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas, Virginia and Latin America and other international sites approved by the Commission on Colleges that award associate, baccalaureate, master’s, or doctoral degrees. The Commission also accepts applications from other international institutions of higher education.



Partnership Organizations

The University of Kentucky is accredited by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges. The University of Kentucky also participates in local, state and regional higher education commissions and organizations. 


The Kentucky Council on Postsecondary Education
The Council on Postsecondary Education coordinates change and improvement in Kentucky's postsecondary education system as directed by the Kentucky Postsecondary Education Improvement Act of 1997.

The Bluegrass Higher Education Consortium
The vision of the Bluegrass Higher Education Commission is to create and support collaborative action and innovation among higher education, and as a result improve educational attainment and economic opportunities for central Kentuckians.  True collaboration involves more than the sharing of information; it involves creating trustful relationships that support efforts to benefit all partners and students.  The outcome will be an exceptional partnership that will provide resources to guide and support mutual exploration of opportunity and the development of an extraordinary Bluegrass Region.

Established by the SEC Presidents and Chancellors, SECU is the academic initiative of the Southeastern Conference. Its vision is to serve as the primary mechanism through which the collaborative academic endeavors and achievements of Southeastern Conference universities are promoted and advanced.