College of Public Health students graduating

10th Anniversary

The College of Public Health celebrated its tenth anniversary for a full year beginning in June, 2013. Events were held throughout the year that showcased our education, research, and service mission. We began with our annual Summer Series on Aging in June and finished in May 2014 with a college-wide celebration. We continue to have much to celebrate: the College was established in 2004, was immediately accredited by CEPH, and is now a Top 25 School of Public Health in U.S. News and World Report rankings.

UK Public Health Milestones

1917 University of Kentucky President Frank McVey establishes the “Department of Hygiene and Public Health” in the College of Arts and Sciences.

1928 John S. Chambers, M.D. is appointed Director of the Department and Professor of Public Health. He proposes a School of Public Health for the university

1932 President McVey agrees to establish a “Summer School in Public Health” with 30-40 students annually.

1938 to 1955  Thirty-eight Master of Science in Public Health (M.S.P.H.) degrees are awarded by the University of Kentucky.

1998 The University of Kentucky Board of Trustees approves establishment of a School of Public Health in the College of Medicine. F. Douglas Scutchfield is named its first director.

2000 Kentucky School of Public Health, Public Health Grand Rounds begin with presentations offered at 15 sites using the Kentucky Telecare and Kentucky-Telelinking Networks.

2000 First Master of Public Health class of 37 students enrolls in the School of Public Health.

2001 First Doctor of Public Health class of 14 students enrolls in the School of Public Health.

2004 The College of Public Health is established by a vote of the Board of Trustees of the University of Kentucky. Stephen W. Wyatt is named Dean.

2005 The College of Public Health is awarded five-year accreditation, the maximum possible for initial accreditation, by the Council on Education for Public Health.

2007 The College establishes its public health scholarship endowment in memory of Associate Dean for Admissions & Student Affairs John S. Wiggs (1943-2007).

2008 The first annual Keeneland Conference on Public Health Systems And Services Research is held.

2009 The new PhD program in Epidemiology and Biostatistics enrolls its first students.

2010 The Master of Health Administration program joins the college.

2010 The University of Kentucky is selected by the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation as the home of the new National Coordinating Center for Public Health Services and Systems Research.

2011 U.S. News and World Report ranks the UK College of Public Health a Top 25 School of Public Health

2011 The Center for Clinical and Translational Science receives a prestigious Clinical and Translational Science Award from the National Institutes of Health, supporting its focus on enhancing and developing outreach pathways to confront chronic health issues in rural and underserved populations throughout the Commonwealth and the Appalachian region.

2012 The College receives over $46 million in grant funding for research.

2013 The UK Markey Cancer Center is designated by the National Cancer Institute (NCI) as the first Kentucky program to receive research funding and many other opportunities available only to the nation’s best cancer centers.

2014 The College of Public Health celebrates its 10th anniversary.

2015 The College of Public Health issues it's first Bachelor of Public Health Degree

2015 Donna Arnett, PhD MSPH is named second dean of the College of Public Health