College of Public Health students graduating

CPH Students, Staff, Faculty Inducted into National Leadership Honor Society

Omicron Delta Kappa (ODK), the National Leadership Honor Society, inducted 57 into the University of Kentucky’s Circle during their Fall Initiation Banquet on December 2, 2012. Five of those were College of Public Health (CPH) faculty, staff, and students.

The University of Kentucky Circle, the Nu Circle, was chartered on May 4, 1925 and since its creation, UK has initiated over 4,000 members.

The following people from CPH have been recognized by ODK for displaying outstanding leadership in the academic and larger community, exemplary character, intelligence, and service to others.

2012 Nu Circle of Omicron Delta Kappa Fall Initiates

CPH Students:
Govind Warrier, Master of Public Health candidate
Zilahatou Tohon, Doctor of Public Health candidate
Marcy Butler, Doctor of Public Health candidate

CPH Staff:
Karla Kuhn, Administrative Coordinator, Graduate Center for Gerontology

CPH Faculty:
Steve Wyatt, DMD, MPA, Dean, College of Public Health

Omicron Delta Kappa was founded December 3, 1914 at Washington and Lee University in Lexington, Virginia by 15 student and faculty leaders. The founders formulated the idea that leadership of exceptional quality and versatility in college should be recognized, that representatives in all phases of college life should cooperate in worthwhile endeavors, and that outstanding students, faculty, and administrators should meet on a basis of mutual interest, understanding, and helpfulness. ODK was the first college honor society of a national scope to give recognition and honor for meritorious leadership and service in extracurricular activities and to encourage development of general campus citizenship. Since its founding, Omicron Delta Kappa has initiated over 300,000 members.