College of Public Health students graduating

2017 Faculty Teaching Award Winners Announced

Three of the college’s outstanding faculty received teaching awards presented at the graduation reception on May 5, 2017. These awards recognize faculty achievement in teaching and mentoring.


Golden Apple Award

Dr. Wayne Sanderson, professor of Epidemiology, received the Golden Apple Award, presented by the Student Public Health Association. The award is selected by CPH students and pays tribute to an outstanding professor who made the greatest contribution to education, not only in the classroom, but through student support, advising, and commitment to public health education as well.

Dean’s Outstanding Teaching Performance Award

Dr. April Young, assistant professor of Epidemiology, received the Dean’s Outstanding Teaching Performance Award. This award recognizes efforts to improve teaching and maintaining the highest levels of student learning through course revisions, engaging student activities, or other effective approaches to the teaching of courses. This includes initiatives or instructional approaches that resulted in improved learning outcomes and/or a positive impact on student learning demonstrated by above average teacher course evaluations, as well as comments from students.

Dean’s Innovation in Teaching Award

Dr. Angela Carman, assistant professor of Health, Behavior & Society, received the Dean’s Innovation in Teaching Award. This award recognizes notable efforts to enhance teaching courses through non-traditional methods of instruction, such as distributed education, utilization of course management software, or an executive learning format. The award is also intended to acknowledge teaching that extends beyond the scope of the Lexington classroom to that which provides the capability to include students from other programs or locations.