College of Public Health students graduating

Research Centers

Public Health Practice‐Based Research Networks (PBRN) National Coordinating Center

The Public Health Practice‐Based Research Networks (PBRN) National Coordinating Center supports a national program of the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation, developing research and practice networks to study the comparative effectiveness, efficiency and equity of public health strategies in real-world practice settings. Building on the successful clinical PBRN model, the Public Health PBRN Program represents the first national initiative to develop PBRNs for research in public health practice settings.

Housed in the University of Kentucky College of Public Health, the Coordinating Center provides research, dissemination, and technical assistance to networks, including participants from more than 1000 state and local public health agencies across the U.S. The Coordinating Center also organizes cross-cutting, multi-network studies to better understand practice variation and address real-world public health challenges. In addition, the Coordinating Center promotes the translation of research findings into the practice and policy settings through such channels as the RE-ACT: Research to Action in Public Health Deliverypodcast and the Frontiers in PHSSRopen-access journal, developed in partnership with the National Coordinating Center for Public Health Services and Systems Research, also housed in the University of Kentucky College of Public Health.

Contact Information:
PublicHealthPBRN@uky.edu
859-218-0113

Glen P. Mays, Ph.D., M.P.H
Principal Investigator
Glen.mays@uky.edu

Anna Goodman Hoover, M.A.
Deputy Director
aghoov2@uky.edu

Lizeth Fowler M.S., M.P.A
Program Manager
Lizeth.Fowler@uky.edu

Cezar Mamaril, M.S., Ph.D.
Senior Researcher
cbmamaril@uky.edu

Rachel Hogg, M.A.,
Graduate Research Assistant
Rachel.hogg@uky.edu

Doris Castellanos, M.P.H
Graduate Research Assistants
doris.castellanos@uky.edu

Nicole Howard
Administrative Assistant
Nicole.howard@uky.edu
859-218-0113

http://www.publichealthsystems.org/research-agenda.aspx

Kentucky and Appalachia Public Health Training Center

http://bhpr.hrsa.gov/grants/publichealth/trainingcenters/about/kentuckyphtc.html

Center of Excellence in Public Health Workforce Research and Policy

http://www.mc.uky.edu/publichealth/coewrp.html