College of Dentistry

DMD, Orofacial Pain, Orthodontics, Pediatric Dentistry, and Periodontics Programs

Fall 2013 Semester

June
  • June 10 - Monday - Academic Year Begins for 4th Year DMD Students (Externships)

July

  • July 1 - Monday - Academic Year Begins for 1st Year Periodontics Students
  • July 1 - Monday - Pediatric Dentistry Residency Begins for New 1st Years and 1st Years Promoted to 2nd Year
  • July 4 - Thursday - Independence Day - Academic Holiday
  • July 8 - Monday - Academic Year Begins for Orofacial Pain Students
  • July 22 - Monday - Academic Year Begins for 2nd and 3rd Year Periodontics Students

August

  • August 5 - Monday - Academic Year Begins for 1st Year Orthodontics Students, 1st Years Promoted to 2nd Year, 2nd Years Promoted to 3rd Year
  • August 12 - Monday - Academic Year Begins for 1st, 2nd, and 3rd Year DMD Students
  • August 12 - Monday - Clinical Year Begins for 4th Year DMD Students
  • August 12 - Monday - Last day a 1st, 2nd, and 3rd Year DMD student can officially withdraw from the College of Dentistry for a full refund for the current term
  • August 12 - Monday - Last day a 4th Year DMD student can officially withdraw from the College of Dentistry for a full refund for the current term
  • August 19 - Monday - Last day a 1st, 2nd, and 3rd Year DMD student can withdraw from the College of Dentistry and receive an 80 percent refund for the current term
  • August 26 - Monday - Last day a 4th Year DMD student can withdraw from the College of Dentistry and receive an 80 percent refund for the current term

September

  • September 2 - Monday - Labor Day - Academic Holiday
  • September 9 - Monday - Last day a 1st, 2nd, and 3rd Year DMD student can officially withdraw from the College of Dentistry and receive a 50 percent refund for the current term
  • September 9 - Monday - Last day a 4th Year DMD student can officially withdraw from the College of Dentistry and receive a 50 percent refund for the current term

November

  • November 28, 29 - Thursday and Friday - Thanksgiving Holidays - Academic Holidays

December

  • December 16-27 - Winter Break Begins for 2nd Year Pediatric Dentistry Residents
  • December 20 - Friday - Winter Break Begins After Last Class or Clinic for DMD, Orthodontics, and Periodontics Students
  • December 21 - Saturday - Winter Break Begins for Orofacial Pain Students
  • December - 1st Year Pediatric Dentistry Residents May Use Bonus Days for Winter Break if Clinic is Covered Adequately

Spring 2014 Semester

January
  • January 6 - Monday - Classes/Clinics Resume for All Students/Residents: DMD, Orofacial Pain, Pediatric Dentistry, Orthodontics, and Periodontics
  • January 6 - Monday - Last day a DMD student can officially withdraw from the College of Dentistry and receive full refund for the current term
  • January 10 - Friday - Last day a DMD student can officially withdraw from the College of Dentistry and receive an 80 percent refund for the current term
  • January 20 - Monday - Martin Luther King, Jr. Birthday Observed - Academic Holiday
  • January 31 - Friday - Last day a DMD student can officially withdraw from the College of Dentistry and receive a 50 percent refund for the current term

March

  • March 31-April 4 - Spring Break for DMD, Orthodontics, and Periodontics Students

April

  • April 23-26 - Spring Break for Orofacial Pain Students (National Conference)

May

  • May 9 - Friday - Academic Year Ends for Graduating DMD Students
  • May 11 - Sunday - University Commencement
  • College of Dentistry Hooding Ceremony
  • May 26 - Monday - Memorial Day - Academic Holiday
  • May 30 - Friday - Academic Year Ends for 3rd Year Graduating Orthodontics Students

June

  • June 13 - Friday - Academic Year Ends for 3rd Year DMD Students
  • June 20 - Friday - Academic Year Ends for 2nd Year DMD Students
  • June 23-July 3 - Summer Break for 1st and 2nd Year Orthodontics Students
  • June 27 - Friday - Academic Year Ends for 1st Year DMD, Orofacial Pain, 1st, 2nd, and 3rd Year Periodontics Students
  • June 30 - Monday - Last Day of Residency for 2nd Year Pediatric Dentistry Residents
  • June 30-July 11 - Summer Break for 2nd and 3rd Year Periodontics Students
University of Kentucky