Provost Link Student Success

Historical Retention Efforts

Provost’s Retention Workgroup

At the University of Kentucky undergraduate student success is critical to the strategic efforts of all the undergraduate colleges and of all the administrative support units, especially including those in the divisions of Enrollment Management, Student Affairs, Institutional Diversity and Undergraduate Education. The leadership of these divisions previously came together with the Associate Provost of Academic Administration and the University's Chief Information Officer comprise the Provost's Retention Workgroup, which met regularly to:

  • monitor current retention and graduation rate data of students at the University of Kentucky as well as any research and assessment activities that contribute to campus goals;
  • identify current student success programs and assessment initiatives occurring on campus;
  • identify best practices and outstanding student success programs at other institutions and considers their application potential at UK;
  • makes recommendations to the Provost concerning ways to increase student learning, success, satisfaction and persistence at UK; and,
  • appoint task forces to develop (and, when appropriate, implement) programmatic initiatives that enhance student success at UK.

These efforts continue through the Student Success Task Force and new collaborations across the university.

Previous Provost Retention Workgroup Members:

Michael M. Mullen, Associate Provost for Undergraduate Education
Jeannine Blackwell, Associate Provost for Academic Administration
Francene Gilmer, Assistant Provost for Career Services
Victor Hazard, Interim Vice President for Student Affairs
Randolph Hollingsworth, Assistant Provost
Becky Jordan, Associate Dean of Students
Vince Kellen, Chief Information Officer
Mark Kornbluh, Dean of the College of Arts & Sciences
Steven Oliver, Assistant Vice President for Institutional Diversity
Constance Ray, Vice-President for Institutional Research, Planning, and Effectiveness
Mark Taylor, Assistant Provost for Undergraduate Education
Toni Thomas, Director for the Center for Academic Resources and Enrichment Services
Don Witt, Assistant Provost for Enrollment Management

Meeting agendas, minutes and handouts are available at: [user log-in required].

Historical Documents

>> Download the Retention Strategic Plan: 2009-2014 [PDF]
>> PowerPoint from the Undergraduate Success forum [PPT]
>> 2009-2014 UK Retention Plan on Just One Page (doc) *

>> 2009 Retention Activities [doc]
>> 2008 Retention Activities [doc]
>> 2007 Retention Activities [doc]