## PR 3

Office of the President May 3, 2016

Members, Board of Trustees:

## UNIVERSITY RESEARCH PROFESSORSHIPS

<u>Recommendation:</u> that the Board of Trustees approve the naming of the individuals on the attached Exhibit 1 as University Research Professors for 2016-17.

<u>Background:</u> The University Research Professorships were established by the University of Kentucky Board of Trustees in 1976 to recognize outstanding research achievements by members of its faculty.

The <u>2015-2020 Strategic Plan</u> for Research has an overall objective to expand scholarship, creative endeavors, and research across the full range of disciplines to focus on the most important challenges of the Commonwealth. Strategic Initiatives to achieve this overall objective include investing in and recognizing areas of scholarly excellence, and recruiting and retaining outstanding faculty, staff, and students.

To align with the overall objective for Research within the <u>2015-2020 Strategic Plan</u>, the revised University Research Professors Program recognizes excellence across the full spectrum of research, scholarship, and creative endeavors within each college. College leadership developed criteria for excellence in research and scholarly activity within their area of expertise, and then nominated faculty who exceled at these criteria. The purpose of the revised University Research Professorship program is to recognize and publicize research accomplishments of these scholars across the full range of disciplines at the University of Kentucky.

Action taken:

Approved Disapproved

Other \_\_\_\_\_

## **EXHIBIT 1**

<u>Name</u>	College and Department
Arthur G. Hunt	College of Agriculture, Food and Environment Plant and Soil Sciences
Qiang Ye	College of Arts and Sciences Mathematics
Thomas R. Zentall	College of Arts and Sciences Psychology
Sherali Zeadally	College of Communication and Information School of Information Science
Jeffrey L. Ebersole	College of Dentistry Oral Health Practice
Gary P. Rohrbacher	College of Design School of Architecture
W. Brent Seales	College of Engineering Computer Science
Diana R. Hallman	College of Fine Arts School of Music
Stephen P. Borgatti	Gatton College of Business and Economics Management
Esther Dupont-Versteegden	College of Health Sciences Rehabilitation Sciences
Mary J. Davis	College of Law
Eugenia F. Toma	Martin School of Public Policy and Administration
Bret N. Smith	College of Medicine Physiology
Edward D. Hall	College of Medicine Spinal Cord Brain Injury Research Center
Ellen J. Hahn	College of Nursing
Chang-Guo Zhan	College of Pharmacy Pharmaceutical Sciences
Terry L. Bunn	College of Public Health Preventive Medicine and Environmental Health