Office of the President September 15, 2017

Members, Board of Trustees:

APPOINTMENT OF DEAN OF THE COLLEGE OF FINE ARTS

<u>Recommendation</u>: that Mark W. Shanda be appointed Dean of the College of Fine Arts, effective September 1, 2017.

<u>Background</u>: Professor Shanda, a former faculty member at The Ohio State University since 1986, was most recently production season producer in the Department of Theatre. He served as chair of the department from 2005-2010 and as the Divisional Dean of Arts and Humanities in the College of Arts and Sciences from 2010-2015.

He earned a Bachelor of Arts in Political Science and Speech/Theatre at Iowa State University in Ames, Iowa (1982), and a Masters of Fine Arts in Theatre Technology at the University of Wisconsin-Madison (1985).

He is currently serving a three-year term as president of the United States Institute for Theatre Technology (USITT), where he was named a fellow in the spring of 2012. He served as the technical director for the United States entry in the Prague Quadrennial in 1999, an international exhibition of theatre design. In addition, he chaired the Eighth Biennial USITT Theatre Technology Expo in Long Beach, California, in 2001. Mr. Shanda has been the technical director for well over 200 theatre and opera productions.

In 1998, Professor Shanda was honored by the Kennedy Center/American College Theatre Festival (KC/ACTF) with the Gold Medallion award, given to individuals who make extraordinary contributions to the teaching and producing of theatre and to the development and quality of the KC/ACTF. He was co-founder and artistic director of The Ohio State University/Port Clinton Performing Arts Festival, a partnership with the Port Clinton business community, which featured student, faculty, and staff artists in music, dance, theatre, and visual arts from The Ohio State University in a weeklong festival held in a variety of nontraditional performance venues. In the spring of 2007, Professor Shanda was awarded the University Career Services Award by The Ohio State University for outstanding service to undergraduate students.

Action taken:	☑ Approved	☐ Disapproved	Other	