Office of the President September 14, 2010

Members, Board of Trustees:

APPOINTMENT OF DEAN OF THE COLLEGE OF PHARMACY

<u>Recommendation</u>: that Dr. Timothy S. Tracy be appointed as Dean of the College of Pharmacy, effective August 16, 2010.

<u>Background</u>: Dr. Kenneth Roberts resigned as Dean of the College of Pharmacy to return to the faculty. A search committee was appointed to identify and recommend qualified persons for the position of Dean of the College of Pharmacy. The search committee considered approximately 27 candidates, and three finalists were interviewed on campus. Dr. Tracy received excellent endorsement within the college and from the search committee.

Dr. Tracy is currently professor and Head of the Department of Experimental and Clinical Pharmacology at the University of Minnesota College of Pharmacy. Dr. Tracy received his bachelor's degree in pharmacy from Ohio Northern University, his Ph.D. in clinical pharmacy from Purdue University, and completed a postdoctoral fellowship in clinical pharmacology at Indiana University.

Dr. Tracy began his career as a pharmacist in Gallipolis and Portsmouth, Ohio, before returning to school to receive his doctoral degree. He began his academic career at West Virginia University (WVU) where he served as a faculty member working his way from assistant professor to professor from 1992 to 2003 and continues to serve as an adjunct professor in the WVU Department of Basic Pharmaceutical Sciences. In 2003, he joined the faculty at the University of Minnesota as professor and was named department head in 2004.

Dr. Tracy has garnered extramural funding through the National Institutes of Health (NIH) and currently is the principal investigator on two NIH supported grants and co-investigator on a third project with total funding of more than \$2.7 million. In addition, he is the author of numerous scientific publications, book chapters, and two books. He also holds two patents.

He received the Outstanding Teacher Award at the WVU School of Pharmacy six times in a 10-year period. He is a member of Phi Lambda Sigma Pharmacy Leadership Honorary Society, the International Society for Study of Xenobiotics, the American Society for Pharmacology and Experimental Therapeutics, the American Association of Colleges of Pharmacy, and the American Association of Pharmaceutical Scientists.

American Association of Pharmaceutical Scientists.				
Action taken:	Approved	☐ Disapproved	Other	_