PR 5

Office of the President June 14, 2011

Members, Board of Trustees:

<u>REAPPOINTMENT TO BOARD OF DIRECTORS</u> <u>UNIVERSITY OF KENTUCKY RESEARCH FOUNDATION</u>

<u>Recommendation</u>: that the Board of Trustees approve the reappointment of Henry Jackson (public member) for a three-year term ending June 30, 2014 to the Board of Directors of the University of Kentucky Research Foundation (UKRF).

<u>Background</u>: In accordance with the Bylaws, members of the Board of Directors of the University of Kentucky Research Foundation are appointed by the Board of Trustees to serve three-year terms. The Nominating Committee of the UKRF Board has recommended and the UKRF Board of Directors has endorsed the reappointment of Henry Jackson.

Action taken:	Approved	Disapproved	□ Other	
---------------	----------	-------------	---------	--

Henry Jackson

Henry Jackson is the President and Majority Owner of Snyova Carpets in Old Fort, North Carolina. He is also President and Majority Owner of both Millennium Steel Service in Princeton, Indiana and Millennium Steel of San Antonio, Texas. Mr. Jackson has been in executive and ownership positions since 1978. He started his career at Clark Material Handling in the domestic division, holding positions of Division Controller, Senior VP and CFO. He then transitioned into the position of Managing Director of Clark Material Handling Europe. Prior to his career with Clark, he held various corporate finance positions and was an accountant in the U.S. Army, serving a tour of duty in Vietnam.

Mr. Jackson attended DePaul University on an academic scholarship where he earned a B.S. in Commerce. He continued his education at the University Of Notre Dame where he earned a Masters Degree in Business Administration.

Mr. Jackson is active in the community, serving on numerous business and non-profit boards, including Kentucky Technology Inc., SECAT, the Lexington Chamber of Commerce, the UK Chandler Medical Center, the UK Board of Trustees, the Kentucky Community Technical College System Board of Regions, the Bluegrass Airport Authority, the Fayette County Urban League, the Common Wealth of Kentucky Commission on Human Rights, the University of Kentucky Research Foundation, and the University of Kentucky Fund Board.