PR 8

Office of the President June 11, 2002

Members, Board of Trustees:

REPORT ON RESULT OF ALUMNI MEMBER ELECTION

<u>Recommendation</u>: that the report of the Secretary of the Board of Trustees on the result of the election authorized by the Alumni Association be received and put to record, and that she be authorized to certify to the Governor the names of the three persons receiving the largest number of votes, from which list a successor to John R. "Jack" Guthrie, whose term expires June 30, 2002, will be appointed.

<u>Background</u>: The term of John R. "Jack" Guthrie as alumnus member of the Board of Trustees expires June 30, 2002. An election has been held among the graduates of the University of Kentucky as prescribed by statute and in accordance with the rules and regulations of the Board of Trustees. The attached letter from the Secretary of the Board of Trustees to the President of the University reports the result of the election.

Action taken: Approved Disapproved Other

May 30, 2002

President Lee T. Todd, Jr. Office of the President 103 Gillis Building University of Kentucky Lexington, Kentucky 40506-0033

Dear President Todd:

The term of John R. "Jack" Guthrie as alumnus trustee of the Board of Trustees expires June 30, 2002. An election has been held among graduates of the University, as prescribed by statute and by the rules and regulations of the Board of Trustees, to nominate to the Governor three graduates from whom a successor will be appointed. The actual tabulation of the votes was conducted by Mr. Stan Key, Director of Alumni Affairs, and the result of the election follows:

Ann Haney	3,306
Myra Tobin	3,034
Bill Arvin	2,502
Mike Burleson	2,312
Richard Bean	2,093
Bob Pickard	1,804

Will you please submit this information to the Board of Trustees that same may be approved, and the names of the three receiving the highest number of votes be certified to the Governor of the Commonwealth of Kentucky from which list he may appoint one to serve a six-year term.

Respectfully submitted,

JoEtta Wickliffe Secretary Board of Trustees