PR 4

Office of the President March 7, 2006

Members, Board of Trustees:

UNIVERSITY RESEARCH PROFESSORSHIPS

<u>Recommendation</u>: that the Board of Trustees approve the naming of Professors Michael Bardo, Department of Psychology; Alan Daugherty, Division of Cardiovascular Medicine; Jonathan Phillips, Department of Geography; and Daret St. Clair, Graduate Center for Toxicology as University Research Professors for 2006-07.

<u>Background</u>: In April 1976, the University Senate recommended to the president the establishment of one-year research professorships and that priority be given to the goal of establishing permanent research professorships as funds became available. At its meeting in May 1976, the University of Kentucky Research Foundation voted to support one-year University Research Professorships to be activated in the fall of 1977. The Board of Trustees named the first University Research Professors at its meeting on March 8, 1977.

The purpose of the University Research Professorships is to enhance and encourage scholarly research productivity, to provide an opportunity for concentrated research effort for selected faculty members, to recognize outstanding research achievement by members of its faculty, to emphasize its research function, and to publicize its research accomplishments in order that the research function of the university be appropriately recognized and understood.