About Us

Our Mission

The UK Women's Forum is an organization for all employees of the University — faculty and staff. Its mission is to exert a leadership role in empowering, validating, informing, including and celebrating all women employed at the University of Kentucky by addressing the challenges, communicating issues, and recognizing successes within the context of the workplace.

Our Roots

In 1987, a small group of dedicated women planted and nurtured an idea for a University-wide women's network. Officially created in 1991, the Women's Forum was established as a place of open discussion, creativity and collective problem solving. The roots of the Forum were deeply embedded in the hope that all UK employees would "...find a fertile and equitable haven for their ideas, energies, and talents." (Susan Stempel, a founding Women's Forum Chair).

During the first year of its establishment, Women's Forum members surveyed over 1,800 University women on various issues and established the first UK Staff Appreciation Day. Since then, members of the Women's Forum have dedicated their time and talents to making the University a better place for women to work by recognizing and celebrating outstanding University women through the annual Sarah Bennett Holmes Award ceremony and luncheon; giving voice to issues through appointments in numerous committees; educating women on issues through the annual conference, monthly professional development opportunities, and monthly board meetings; and providing critical development and networking opportunities to its membership.

Our Board

Designed to provide leadership and direction for the Forum, the Women's Forum Board consists of a total of 20 individuals: 18 elected Board members, the past chair and the current chair. The Women's Forum Board puts out a call for nominations every year to elect new Board members. Any UK full-time regular employee, faculty or staff, may be nominated to the UK Women's Forum Board. A campus-wide election is held annually in the spring, and the elected nominees then serve a two-year term on the Board.

Alison Begor, College of Law
Christa Blackwell, College of Health Sciences
Erika Chambers, Work-Life
Carol Dell, Radiology
Kathryn Gould, Counseling Center
Jennafer Greene, Obstetrics and Gynecology -- Maternal Fetal
Rhonda Henry, VIP Center
Kathy Hight, WUKY
Lynn Hiler, Chellgren Center for Undergraduate Excellence
Lindsey Jasinski, Psychiatry
Kristie Law, Department of Rehabilitation Sciences
Connie LeRoy, Physical Plant - Medical Center
Lisa Lockman, Residence Life
Stephanie Ratliff, College of Social Work
Marcia Shrout, Residence Life
Therese Smith, Community of Concern
Abbye Tackett, Libraries
Sara Talbott, Extension Field Programs
Keturah Taylor, College of Health Sciences


Click here to view our Bylaws.



Apply for the Employee Educational Assistance Award by 9/3/14

Applications for the EEA Award are accepted beginning August 1st. Deadline to apply for the Fall 2014 Semester is September 3rd. Click here to apply.

Welcome NEW members to the Women's Forum Board!

We are excited to welcome the following new members to the Women's Board for 2014-2016: Alison Begor, Christa Blackwell, Kathryn Gould, Lynn Hiler, Kristie Law, and Stephanie Ratliff.