Sarah Bennett Holmes Awards & Luncheon


The Sarah Bennett Holmes Award is granted annually to women working at the University who promote the growth and well-being of other women at the University and across the Commonwealth. These awards bring recognition for efforts that would otherwise go unnoticed through typical channels.


Sarah Bennett Holmes, a distinguished former Dean of Women at the University of Kentucky, tirelessly championed the rights of women throughout her career. Widowed at a young age, Holmes raised four children while completing her own education. She then began a successful career at the University where she inspired young women to persevere in the face of hardship and pursue their career goals. Among her accomplishments, Holmes developed work programs for women during the depression.

In her honor, the UK Women's Forum created the Sarah Bennett Holmes Award. Since 1994, the annual Sarah Bennett Holmes Award has been bestowed upon female employees who have achieved professional and personal success while promoting the growth and well-being of all women.

2015 Nominees:

Henrietta Bada-Ellzey, Pediatrics - College of Medicine and Health Behavior - College of Public Health
Ruth Bryan, Special Collections Research Center
Rebecca Collins, Pediatrics
Beth Goldstein, Education Policy Studies
Marty Henton, School of Art & Visual Studies
Beverly A. Hilton, UK Libraries
Elizabeth Oates, Radiology
Melynda Price, College of Law
Pamela Remer, Educational, School, & Counseling Psychology
Susan Smyth, Internal Medicine
Anita Superson, Philosophy
Alice Thornton, Internal Medicine Division of Infectious Diseases

Joanne Brown, University Health Service (student health)
Evie Russell, Undergraduate Research
Elizabeth Snider, U.K HealthCare Polk Dalton Clinic
Gaye Whalen, OB GYN
Shane Winstead, Pharmacy

All Past Recipients

2014 Elisia Cohen, Department of Communication
2014 Meg Marquis, The Honors Program
2013 Lynne Jensen, College of Nursing
2013 Kathleen Sheppard-Jones, Human Development Institute
2012 Ann Bassoni, Work Life Department
2012 Gail Kennedy, UK Libraries
2011 Louise Graham, College of Law
2011 Dana Walton-Maculay, Dean of Students
2010 Christy Burch, Violence Intervention and Prevention Center
2010 Diane Snow, Dept. of Anatomy and Neurobiology
2009 C. Lynn Hiler, Chellgren Center for Undergraduate Education
2009 Lynda Brown Wright, Dept.of Educational, School & Counseling Psychology
2008 Suzanne Springate, UK Healthcare
2008 Sheila Woods, College of Medicine
2007 Penny Cox, Information Technology
2007 Joanna Badagliacco, College of Arts & Sciences
2006 Jeanette Caldwell, Human Resources
2006 Nancy Brown Johnson, Gatton College of Business & Economics
2005 Ann Amerson, Pharmacy Practice and Science
2005 Carol Jordan, Center for Research on Violence Against Women
2004 Dorothy Brockopp, College of Nursing
2003 Jacqueline Gibson, Internal Medicine
2002 Kim Anderson, College of Engineering
2001 Louise Stone, Experiential Education
2000 Suzanne Scheff, College of Engineering
1999 Pamella Shaw, Kentucky Community Cancer Program
1998 Venda Ridgeway, UK Postal Service
1997 Linda Linville, Kentucky Cancer Program
1996 Abby Marlatt, Professor Emeritus, College of Human Environmental Science
1995 Cheryl Birch, Dept. of Opthamology
1994 Betty Gabehart, UK Advising Center



Welcome NEW members to the Women's Forum Board!

We are excited to welcome the following new members to the Women's Board for 2014-2016: Alison Begor, Christa Blackwell, Kathryn Gould, Lynn Hiler, Kristie Law, and Stephanie Ratliff.