Kentucky Seismic and Strong-Motion Network

The Geologic Hazards Section operates and maintains the Kentucky Seismic and Strong-Motion Network, or KSSMN, which monitors earthquakes in and around the commonwealth. The network consists of 22 permanent seismic and strong-motion stations and eight temporary seismic stations. Fourteen earthquakes, with magnitudes ranging from 1.1 to 2.9, were located within the state between July 1, 2019, and June 30, 2020. The network’s recordings from 14 seismic stations were shared with the neighboring seismic network operated by the University of Memphis and with the Data Management Center at Incorporated Research Institutions for Seismology, who archived the recordings and made them available for global usage. More than 350 gigabytes of our data was downloaded from IRIS this fiscal year.

Locations of stations in the Kentucky Seismic and Strong-Motion Network.

Jon Schmidt was hired as a geologist in March 2020 to assist with network operations and research. Jon has a strong background in network seismology, seismic instrumentation, and earthquake source analysis, developed in both the public and private sectors.

Jon Schmidt works on seismic station EK32 in Breathitt County.


Last Modified on 2020-09-28
Back to Top