Call for Abstracts for Annual CCTS Conference


LEXINGTON, Ky. (Jan. 27, 2012) — The University of Kentucky Center for Clinical and Translation Science (CCTS) is accepting abstracts for its 7th Annual Spring Conference.  The conference will be held Thursday, March 29, 2012, at the Lexington Convention Center. 

Abstracts may be submitted on any aspect of health-related research, including basic health-related biomedical research, research with animal models of clinical disease and/or with human tissue; clinical research that involves human subjects; health-related clinical, epidemiological and/or community-based research; outcomes research; health services research; and behavioral science investigations.


The call for abstracts is open to interested faculty, research personnel, trainees/scholars and administrators. It is also open to those in government agencies, private foundations and community organizations interested in improving the health status of the citizens of Appalachia and Kentucky. Submissions from individuals participating in research career training programs (e.g., NIH training programs, including T32, K12, COBRE) are particularly encouraged.


The majority of abstract submissions will be accepted for presentation during the poster session at the conference. All poster presenters will receive feedback from an interdisciplinary group of conference mentors. Feedback will focus on both the research presented on the poster and on career development.


There is no cost for abstract submission.  The deadline to submit an abstract for presentation at the conference is March 2.  For more information about the call for abstracts or submission, click here.


In addition to the general poster session, the CCTS Spring Conference will feature poster sessions for the College of Dentistry Research Day and the Bluegrass Chapter of the Society for Neuroscience (BGSFN) Spring Neuroscience Research Day.


The CCTS Spring Conference is co-sponsored by the members of the Appalachian Translational Research Network (ATRN) comprised of the University of Kentucky, the Ohio State University, University of Cincinnati, Ohio University, Marshall University, West Virginia University, Morehead State University, University of Pikeville and the Appalachian Regional Commission.


For additional information about the conference, visit:


MEDIA CONTACT: Allison Elliott,