Alpha Lambda Delta

The mission of Alpha Lambda Delta is to encourage superior academic achievement among students in their first year in institutions of higher education, to promote intelligent living and a continued high standard of learning, and to assist students in recognizing and developing meaningful goals for their roles in society.



Alpha Lambda Delta was founded in 1924 by Maria Leonard, the Dean of Women at the University of Illinois, to recognize academic excellence among freshman women.  One year prior, Dean Thomas Arkle Clark had founded Phi Eta Sigma, an honor society to recognize academic excellence among freshman men.  Both groups operated as single sex organizations until the mid-1970s when they both became coeducational in response to Title IX.

Alpha Lambda Delta has continued to celebrate academic excellence among first-year students and has grown to over 280 chapters and has initiated over one million students. The National Council which governs the organization has prudently invested the resources and gifts from local chapters, National Council members, former fellowship recipients, and friends of the Society over the years so that the Perpetual Fellowship Fund now exceeds $4 million and can provide support for 37 undergraduate scholarships of $1,000-$6,000 each, 20 study-abroad scholarships of $1,000-$2,000, and 26 graduate fellowships from $3,000 to $7,500. The fellowships are named for significant people in the history of the Society.



Alpha Lambda Delta holds a ceremony each spring semester to induct new members of the chapter.



ALD has 2 undergraduate scholarships and 1 for graduate students. Please visit the national page to learn more:

The internal deadline for the Stemler Study Abroad Scholarship is Tuesday, February 15, 2022.
The internal deadline for the Trow Undergraduate Scholarship is Tuesday, March 1, 2022.

We have an information session regarding the upcoming scholarship deadlines and new membership scheduled for Wednesdsay, January 26, 2022 at 4:00pm.  Please contact the Chellgren Center ( for the link to this virtual session.


Contact Us

Student Officers
Shelby Brantley - President

Rachel Korosec - Vice President


Chapter Advisor
Patricia Whitlow

Chapter Coordinator
C. Lynn Hiler

Scholarship Coordinator
Emily Sallee

Chapter Contact Information
Chellgren Center for Undergraduate Excellence
160 Funkhouser Drive, Ste 224
University of Kentucky
Lexington, KY 40506
Phone: (859) 257-6894