NSF Graduate Research Fellowship Program Recognizes 11 UK Students, Alums

May 13, 2020 - Five UK students and alumni have been selected to receive government-funded National Science Foundation (NSF) Graduate Research Fellowships. In addition, six other UK students received honorable mention recognition from the NSF. 

The five recipients are: Nadia Almasalkhi, James Tyler Nichols, Stephen Parsons, Esther Putman and Eura Shin. The students receiving honorable mention recognition are: Pasama Cole-Kweli, Hannah Dvorak, Angela Jones, Kyle Rawn, Rebecca Westwick and Maya Woolfolk.  

NSF Fellows receive a three-year annual stipend of $34,000 along with a $12,000 cost of education allowance for tuition and fees for a research-based master's or doctoral degree in a STEM (science, technology, engineering or mathematics) field. Annually, the NSF awards approximately 1,500 fellowships from an applicant pool of over 12,000.

Read more in UKNow.