Health Sciences Professor Stewart Receives Prestigious Professional Award

LEXINGTON, Ky. (Nov. 2, 2016)  — A University of Kentucky College of Health Sciences associate dean recently received a prestigious award from the Association of Schools of Allied Health Professions (ASAHP).

Sharon Stewart, associate dean for special projects and professor, was presented with the Darrell C. Mase Presidential Citation from ASAHP. The award, presented by president Linda Petrosino at the 2016 ASAHP Annual Conference in New Orleans, was a surprise to Stewart.

“It was an honor to be recognized for my work, especially to be recognized by my peers,” Stewart said. “My work with ASAHP has been focused on developing the leadership potential of allied health faculty and administrators, improving allied health education, and empowering the Association and the health professions, all with the ultimate goal of improving health care for our citizens.”

The award is a means for the ASAHP president to express gratitude to members who have dedicated themselves to helping maintain the qualities of excellence that characterize a professional association. Typically, one ASAHP member receives the award each year.

Petrosino said that she was pleased to acknowledge Stewart, who has tirelessly devoted herself to ASAHP and to allied health education. She also noted Stewart’s contributions in heading this year’s ASAHP Leadership Development Program.  

“This award is no surprise to those of us fortunate enough to be colleagues of Dr. Stewart,” said Scott M. Lephart, dean of the College of Health Sciences. “Our college, university, and health sciences professions continue to be positively impacted by her dedication, tenacity, and excellence.”

Original Article