Membership

​​Currently, CMB has 30 active an​d engaged members​ across 6 Colleges at the University of Kentucky. Center Members focus on various muscles with active research programs in areas including:

AGING - SEPSIS - HEART FAILURE - METABOLIC DISEASES - ARTHRITIS - CANCER - INJURY - EXERCISE

Comprised of both basic and clinical researchers, the CMB interacts with the Center for Clinical and Translational Science (CCTS), Sanders Brown Center on Aging, Saha Cardiovascular Research Center and Markey Cancer Center, positioning us well for new translational programs and clinical trials.

 

 

 

 

 

Membership

NAMEDEPARTMENTCONTACT
​Francisco H. Andrade, PhD
 

Physiology
College of Medicine

paco.andrade@uky.edu
 
Babak Bazrgari, PhD​Biomedical Engineering
College of Engineering 
babak.bazrgari@uky.edu
​Lance Bollinger, PhD
 
Kinesiology & Health Promotion
College of Education
lance.bollinger@uky.edu
Tim Butterfield, PhD
 
Rehabilitation Sciences/Athletic Training
College of Health Sciences
tim.butterfield@uky.edu
Leigh Ann Callahan, MD
 
​Internal Medicine (Pulmonary)
College of Medicine
lacall2@uky.edu
​​Kenneth Campbell, PhD
 
Physiology
College of Medicine
k.s.campbell@uky.edu
Gilson Capilouto, PhD
Rehabilitation Sci/Communication Sci & Disorders
College of Health Sciences
gilson.capilouto@uky.edu
Jody Clasey, PhD
 
Kinesiology & Health Promotion
College of Education
jlclas0@uky.edu
​Robin Cooper, PhD
 
Biology
College of Arts and Sciences
rlcoop1@uky.edu
​Brian Delisle, PhD
Physiology
College of Medicine
brian.delisle@uky.edu
Sanda Despa, PhD
Pharmacology & Nutritional Sciences
College of Medicine
s.despa@uky.edu
​Esther Dupont-Versteegden, PhD
Rehabilitation Sciences/Physical Therapy
College of Health Sciences
eedupo2@uky.edu
​​Steve Leung, MD
 
Internal Medicine (Cardiology)
College of Medicine
steve.leung@uky.edu
​Charles Lutz, MD, PhD
 
Pathology
College of Medicine
ctlutz@uky.edu
John McCarthy, PhD
 
Physiology
College of Medicine
jjmcca2@uky.edu
​Carole Moncman
Molecular and Cellular Biochemistry
College of Medicine
carole.moncman@uky.edu
​Jennifer Moylan, PhD
Physiology
College of Medicine
jennifer.moylan@uky.edu
Michael P. Murphy, PhD
 
Molecular and Cellular Biochemistry
College of Medicine
mpmurp3@uky.edu
​Brian Noehren, PhD
Rehabilitation Sciences/Physical Therapy
College of Health Sciences
b.noehren@uky.edu
Abhijit Patwardhan, PhD
​Biomedical Engineering
College of Engineering
abhijit@uky.edu
Charlotte Peterson, PhD
 
Rehabilitation Sciences
College of Health Sciences
cpete4@uky.edu
Hiroshi Saito, PhD
​Surgery and Physiology
College of Medicine
hiroshi.saito@uky.edu
Jonathan Satin, PhD
 
Physiology
College of Medicine
jonathan.satin@uky.edu
Joseph Stemple, PhD
​​
​Rehabilitation Sci/Communication Sci & Disorders
College of Health Sciences
joseph.stemple@uky.edu
Gerald Supinski​, MD
 
​Internal Medicine (Pulmonary)
College of Medicine
gsupi2@uky.edu
​D. Travis Thomas, PhD
 
Clinical Sciences
College of Health Sciences
david.t.thomas@uky.edu
​Tim Uhl, PhD
 
Rehabilitation Sciences/Athletic Training
College of Health Sciences
tluhl2@uky.edu
Kristine Urschel, PhD
Animal and Food Sciences
College of Agriculture
klurschel@uky.edu
Guoqiang Yu, PhD
 
Biomedical Engineering
College of Engineering
guoqiang.yu@uky.edu

 


Muscles Studied

Center Members' research involves the study of various muscle groups, such as skeletal, cardiac, diaphragm, laryngeal, tongue and extraocular. Many research programs study multiple muscles.

Center for Muscle Biology

College of Health Sciences

Wethington Building

900 S. Limestone, Lexington, KY 40536-0200

(859) 323-1100

Follow:

  • Facebook Icon

Contact Us

We are happy to answer all questions.
Please fill out our form and a representative
will be in touch within 48 hours.

X