The PA Surgery Residency is housed in the Department of Physician Assistant Studies in the College of Health Sciences (CHS). Post Graduate residency faculty from CHS includes:

Chair of Department of Physician Assistant Studies
Virginia Valentin, DrPH, PA-C

Chief of UKPAS Transition to Practice and Advanced Training Programs
Sibu Saha, MD, MBA; Professor of Surgery and Bioengineering, Frank C. Spencer, MD Endowed Chair in Surgery

Program Director Post Graduate Education
David Fahringer, MSPH, PA-C Emeritus
College of Health Sciences
Department of Physician Assistant Studies
CTW 205
900 S. Limestone Street
Lexington, KY 40536-0200
Office Phone: 859-218-0586


This residency program is supported by UK faculty in the College of Medicine under the leadership of:

Interim Division Chief for Pulmonary, Critical Care and Sleep Medicine
Eric S. Bensadoun, MD, FCCP, Professor of Medicine
Critical Care PA Academic Associate Director-Clinical Site Coordinator
Manpreet (Preet) K. Datta, PA-C MPAS
Division Chief, Anesthesiology Critical Care Medicine
Kevin Hatton, MD, FCCM, Clinical Professor of Anesthesiology and Surgery

Office hours

Appointments only.  Email or text is the best source of communication for setting up appointments. Professor Fahringer will attempt to return all email communications within 72 hours.