Voluntary Faculty Conference

The Voluntary Faculty Conference (previously known as the Community Faculty Conference) began in 1994 as the nation's first and only interprofessional conference dedicated to preparing faculty to educate health professions students in the community. Closely aligned with the UK AHEC Program, the Voluntary Faculty Conference has hosted as many as 300 attendees and is always well received. Beginning in 2010 and coinciding with the founding of the Center, a session devoted to IPE has been a regular feature of the conference. Currently, the conference is a collaborative effort of the Office for Research and Community Health, the Center for Clinical and Translational Science and our Center. Among the distinguished group of keynote speakers are the following: Stephan Abrahamson, PhD, ScD; Neal Whitman, EdD; US Representative Louise Slaughter; Robert Kegan, PhD; Melanie Tervalon, MD, MPH; Perri Klass, MD; Barbara Brandt, PhD; Carol A. Aschenbrener, MD; and Georges Bordage, MD, PhD.