HEALing Communities Study Map

Participating Counties: Jefferson, Boyd, Franklin, Floyd, Campbell, Knox, Kenton, Boyle, Mason, Madison, Greenup, Jessamine, Carter, Bourbon, Clark, Fayette.

Map of the state of Kentucky with the 120 counties in shades of grey. The 16 counties that are part of the HEALing Communities study are highlighted in blue. Participating counties include Jefferson, Franklin, Campbell, Kenton, Mason, Greenup, Carter, Boyd, Floyd, Knox, Boyle, Madison, Jessamine, Bourbon, Fayette and Clark



County Selection Process: 

  • 120 Kentucky counties
  • 48 counties ≥ 25 opioid overdose deaths per 100,000 in 2017
  • 35 counties without suppressed overdose data ≥ 5 opioid overdose deaths
  • 28 counties with needed justice infrastructure
  • 25 counties with needed treatment infrastructure
  • 19 counties with needed public health infrastructure
  • 16 counties not already involved in major UK intervention project