College holds virtual ceremony honoring faculty, staff's outstanding achievements

Posted: May 27, 2020


The College of Nursing held its annual Celebrating Excellence Awards Ceremony and Reception for the first time as a virtual event on Wednesday, May 20, 2020. Faculty and staff were recognized for their outstanding achievements and contributions for the 2019-2020 academic year.

A full list of awards and recipients is below:

Service Recognition – 5 Years

  • Patty Foster, Administrative Assistant
  • Michael Miles, Senior Grants Officer
  • Dan Rios, Lead Technical Support Specialist

Service Recognition – 10 Years

  • Jenny Fleser, Student Compliance and Data Coordinator
  • Andrea McCubbin, MPH, Program Director, Perinatal Research

Service Recognition – 15 Years

  • Amy DelRe, Practice & Clinical Engagement Contract Administrator and Practice Manager for Phyllis D. Corbitt Community Health Center
  • Heather Robertson, Project Manager

Service Recognition – 20 Years

  • Hazel Chappell, MSN, RN, Director, Office of Professional Development
  • Shannon Ferguson, College Financial Analyst
  • Kathy Rademacher, Data Management Coordinator, Tobacco Policy Research Program
  • Lisa Galvin, Executive Administrative Assistant to the Dean

Excellence in Clinical Practice 
Angela Hensley DNP, APRN, FNP-C

Excellence in Undergraduate Unit/Agency
St. Joseph East Neonatal Intensive Care Unit

Excellence in Graduate Precepting
Shannon J. Voogt, MD

Excellence in Undergraduate Precepting
Christine Duff, RN, BSN

Gloe L. Bertram Award
Mary Jane Lesshafft, Student Compliance Coordinator/Academic Advisor

Louise J. Zegeer Award
Hartley Feld PhD, PHCNS-BC, RN

Excellence in Graduate Teaching
Karen Stefaniak, RN, PhD

Excellence in Part-Time/Adjunct/Voluntary Teaching
Melissa Setters, RN, MSN

Diversity and Inclusion Champion
Jean Edward, PhD, RN, CHPE​

Excellence in Support of the College of Nursing
Elaine Smith, MSN, RN, NPD, BC

Excellence in Engagement for Research-Based Team Member
Janine Barnett, Nurse Coordinator, Perinatal Research and Wellness Center

Employee of the Year
Brenda Ghaelian, Curriculum Development Director
Jesse Stallsworth, Instructional Designer

Dean’s PUMA Award for Staff Excellence

  • Andrea McCubbin, MPH, Program Director, Perinatal Research
  • Patty Foster, Administrative Assistant
  • Parry Barrows, Director of Communications
  • Jesse Stallsworth, Instructional Designer
  • Karen Minton, Associate Dean of Executive Administrative Affairs and Finance

Exemplary Leadership Award
Janie Heath, PhD, APRN-BC, FAAN, FNAP, FAANP, Dean and Warwick Professor of Nursing